×

Backyard Beats

30 Years Of ‘Hurricaning,’ Mark Ross Benefit This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, January 17 through Thursday, January 23. It was in 1989 that Felix Kos and his new band, The Hurricanes, formed and began to surface from the Cresson and Gallitzin vicinity. The initial group began to ...

Live Music to Chase January Boredom…

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, January 10 through Thursday, January 16. Plenty of area favorites are on stage this weekend to chase the January boredom that typically follows the holiday season. See the listings below, pick out a ...

The Calm After the Holidays…

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, January 3 through Thursday, January 9. The weekend following New Year's Day usually tends to be quieter on the area music scene, as venues and performers catch their breath after the excitement of New ...

A Live Music Transition into 2020!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, December 27 through Thursday, January 2. Several live music events highlight this weekend's slate, before numerous shows and celebrations carry live music fans into New Year 2020. McGarvey's presents ...

Seedz 4 Needz and Roshambeaux This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, December 13 through Thursday, December 19. Among the activities happening on area live music stages this weekend is a benefit event that will help out Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh. The Castle Pub ...

Sun King Warriors Back In Town This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, December 6 through Thursday, December 12. Among the live music activities happening this weekend, Jim Donovan & the Sun King Warriors return to the area to perform at McGarvey's on Friday night. ...

Thanksgiving Leftovers!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, November 29 through Thursday, December 5. There's life on area live music stages this weekend after the Thanksgiving holiday, providing opportunities to dance off calories from those Thanksgiving ...

Michale Graves, Mysterytrain and Thanksgiving Eve!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, November 22 through Thursday, November 28. The return of a former Misfit and a Rex Foundation fundraiser highlight this weekend's live music schedule, before numerous live music events on Wednesday ...

Patched Together and Don Jamieson This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, November 15 through Thursday, November 21. As November inches closer toward Thanksgiving, an event that has become one of the annual live music highlights of November returns this weekend. The 9th ...

Striking Chords Against Cancer This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, October 18 through Thursday, October 24. With most area outdoor fall festivals done and in the books for another year, live music now moves back indoors for the next six months. A big indoor event ...

Fall Fests, Songs & Stories and Trick Or Feed This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, October 11 through Thursday, October 17. The outdoor fall festival season appears to reach its peak this weekend, with numerous fall festivals happening throughout the region...Downtown Hollidaysburg ...

Zombietown, Bedford Fall Foliage and Apple Cider Festival This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, October 4 through Thursday, October 10. The cavalcade of fall festivals around the area continues this weekend. The zombie apocalypse returns to downtown Altoona on Saturday with the fourth annual ...

Celebrating the Spud, Cassville Oktoberfest This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, September 27 through Thursday, September October 3. Now that the calendar has gearshifted into the fall season, fall festivals will provide some live music highlights for the next few weeks before ...

Late Summer Festivals, Fairs, Benefits and More!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, September 6 through Thursday, September 12. As summer nears its end, numerous outdoor festivals and other events continue to highlight the live music schedule for this weekend and upcoming week. The ...

We The Kings, Labor Day Weekend Festivals and More!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, August 30 through Thursday, September 5. Although summer officially lasts for a few more weeks yet, Labor Day Weekend marks the unofficial close to summer for many people, and many events highlight this ...

Day Of Rock, Centre Grange Fair, St. Bernard’s Picnic and More!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, August 16 through Thursday, August 22. Outdoor festivals, fairs, concerts and other events reach a feverish pitch at this time of year, and this weekend and upcoming week feature lots of events to ...

Flood City, Summer Sounds, Vets Fest and Huntingdon Fair!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, August 2 through Thursday, August 8. Outdoor live music continues to be in the spotlight as August gets under way. Several big outdoor happenings provide live music highlights during this weekend and ...

Hot Music for a Hot Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Friday, July 19 through Thursday, July 25. The big topic of conversation this weekend is the heat and arrival of 90-degree temperatures. Although one live music-related event was cancelled due to the expected ...

Arts Festivals and Led This Weekend!

Here is a listing of Altoona area live music happenings for the weekend and week of Thursday, July 11 through Thursday, July 18. Arts festivals highlight this week's listing, as both the 53rd annual Central Pennsylvania Festival of the Arts in State College and the 27th annual People's Choice ...