Watt, Lee take home 2021 titles

Courtesy photo Nikki Watt (far right) and Greg Lee (second from left) were crowned the Altoona Mirror Bowler of the Year women’s and men’s champions Thursday night. Julie Fox finished runnerup on the women’s side while Leo Weyandt was the runnerup on the men’s side.

Greg Lee and Nikki Watt, both first-time winners, walked away with top honors in the Altoona Mirror’s annual Bowler of the Year Tournament Thursday night. The event was held at the Bavarian Hall’s F.A. Gerhart Lanes.

“I thought I bowled very well,” said Lee. “Anytime you have an 800 (actually 811) after three games, you’re doing OK.”

Lee opened with a 258 and tacked on games of 288 and 265 before finishing with a 236 as he built his lead over the men’s field. Lee’s four-game winning total was 1,047.

The 52-year-old Lee works for Verizon and said he didn’t qualify for the BOY event until the final week of the regular season when he rolled a 783 score.

Leo Weyandt finished runnerup with a 1,032 total. Weyandt bowled a 279 in the first game to take an early lead. He followed with a 230 and fell behind Lee after two games and then tacked on a 224 in the third. He bowled a near-perfect 299 in the fourth game, but still fell 15 pins shy of Lee’s winning score.

John Slowik Jr. bowled a perfect 300 on his third game and finished fifth with a 949 total.

Jon Yon wound up third with a four-game total of 994 and Chris Strawmier was fourth with a 982 total.

The men’s field had 21 competitors.

Watt claimed her first BOY title with a four-game total of 836 pins.

Watt opened her four-game set with a 203 and followed with games of 239, 182 and 212 to finish at 836 and outdistance the field.

“It’s my first year in the tournament,” said the 24-year-old Watt, a Penn State Altoona grad (2019) who works at B.T. Management. “I was happy with how I bowled.”

Watt finished 21 pints ahead of runnerup Julie Fox, who carded games of 191, 142, 203 and 279 for an 815.

The women’s field was jumbled with Faith Patton (814), Ashley Grassmyer (812) and Brenda Miller (811) finishing third through fifth.

Only 10 women participated in the annual event.


Greg Lee 1047, Leo Weyandt 1032 Jon Yon 994,Chris Strawmire 782,John Slowik Jr, 949,Justin Horton 949,Marshall Dick 918,Mike Harpster 896,Troy Monaahan 896,Brian Risko 888,Scott kephart 876,Gus Soellner 876,Paul Charles 859,Justin Clatterbaugh 749,Cody Wilt 839,Dave Kiser 817,Rob Laubenstein 805,Tommy Orberg 800,Dan Walk Jr. 757


Nikki Watt 836,Julie Fox 815,Faith Patton 814,Ashley Grassmywe 812,Brenda Miller 811,BreeHover 785,Beth Hoover748,Kelsey Focht 716,Christine Cleaver 707, Jacinda Grannas 659


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today