Blair certifies Nov. 3 election results

HOLLLIDAYSBURG — Blair County’s votes in the Nov. 3 election for president and vice president were included in vote totals certified Wednesday by state Secretary of State Kathy Boockvar.

Blair County voters cast 45,306 votes (71.07%) for Republican Donald Trump, 17,636 votes (27.67%) for Democratic Joseph Biden, 653 votes (1.02%) for Libertarian Jo Jorgensen and 153 (0.24%) write-in votes.

Boockvar certified 3,458,229 votes for Biden, 3,377,674 for Trump and 79,380 for Jorgensen, putting Gov. Tom Wolf in a position to sign a Certificate of Ascertainment in support of the slate of electors supporting Biden. The electors will meet in Harrisburg on Dec. 14.

“We are tremendously grateful to all 67 counties who have been working extremely long hours to ensure that every qualified voter’s vote is counted safely and securely,” Boockvar said. “The county election officials and the poll workers are the true heroes of our democracy, enabling us to vote in record numbers, amid challenging circumstances, so that every eligible voter’s voice could be heard.”

Blair County’s results from the Nov. 3 election, last updated on Nov. 17 on the county’s website were listed as “unofficial.”

The website will be updated, but the posted numbers will remain the same, Director of Elections Sarah Seymour said Tuesday, a day after the county certified its totals.

Blair County’s numbers, as posted, also show that of the voters supporting Trump, 37,610 voted on Election Day and 7,115 voted by mail. Trump also received an additional 581 provisional ballots cast by Blair County voters.

Blair County voters supporting Biden, meanwhile, cast 8,576 on Election Day and 9,576 votes via mail-in ballots. They also provided 204 additional votes through provisional ballots.

Blair County totals

Attorney General

Republican Heather Heidelbaugh 43,912

Democrat Josh Shapiro 17,496

Libertarian Daniel Wassmer 1,105

Green Richard Weiss 583

Auditor General

Republican Timothy DeFoor 44,824

Democrat Nina Ahmad 15,245

Libertarian Jennifer Moore 2,066

Green Olivia Faison 623

State Treasurer

Republican Stacy Garrity 44,444

Democrat Joe Torsella 16,593

Libertarian Joe Soloski 1,274

Green Timothy Runkle 624

Representative in Congress — 13th District

Republican John Joyce 46,944

Democrat Todd Rowley 16,243

Representative in General Assembly — 79th District

Republican Lou Schmitt 20,089

Democrat Jason Runk 8,530

Representative in General Assembly — 80th District

Republican Jim Gregory 30,934

Ballots cast: 63,889 (includes 46,088 on Election Day, 17,008 by mail-in and 793 provisional ballots)

Registered voters: 80,499

Voter turnout: 79.37 percent


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today