Area players among NFF nominees

STATE COLLEGE — The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, Central Pennsylvania Chapter, will honor 49 high school and seven college scholar-athletes at its 23rd annual Awards Dinner on Sunday at 1:30 at The Penn Stater Hotel and Conference Center.

The 49 high school scholar-athletes will be honored by the NFF for their success on the field, in the classroom and commitment to community service. Several high school student-athletes will receive scholarships while one high school scholar-athlete will win the prestigious Joe Sarra Award, in honor of the late Penn State football assistant coach.

Since initiating the awards banquet in 1998, the Central Pennsylvania Chapter has awarded a total of $249,000 in scholarship money while honoring 830 scholar-athletes from high schools located in its 25-county coverage area.

This year’s scholar-athletes will receive a motivational message from former Penn State linebacker and seven-year National Football League veteran Nate Stupar. Stupar, a State College native, was the seventh-round selection of the Oakland Raiders in the 2012 NFL Draft.

Among the high school scholar-athlete nominees from the Mirror coverage area are Adam Port (Altoona), Jesse Arnold (Bedford), Jackson Boyer (Bellwood-Antis), Mavrick Farabaugh (Bishop Carroll), John Donoughe (Bishop Guilfoyle), Noah Donahue (Cambria Heights), Braden Kitt (Central), Dylan Long (Central Cambria), Duane Knisely (Chestnut Ridge), Connor Oakes (Claysburg-Kimmel), D.J. Heim (Hollidaysburg), Nick Troha (Huntingdon), Caden Rupert (Juniata Valley), Noah Webb (Moshannon Valley), Christopher Dodd (Mount Union), Colby Imler (Northern Bedford), Hunter Wagner (Penn Cambria), Andrew Sypa (Philipsburg-Osceola), Scott Garlock (Southern Huntingdon), Nathan Lusk (State College), Brandon Homan (Tyrone) and Adam Uplinger (Williamsburg).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)