Mountain League announces all-stars

The Mountain League recently released its 2019 high school football all-star team, which had three players from Huntingdon and one each from Tyrone and Central on the first team.

Making it for Huntingdon were Andrew Miller (receiver-defensive back), Isaiah Reed (defensive end) and Derrick Fultz (defensive back). Central’s Jeff Hoenstine (defensive back) and Tyrone’s Cam Brandt (punter) round out the local entries.

Huntingdon put two players on the second team on offense, Reed (line) and Zack Peck (line), while Tyrone had Damon Gripp (receiver), Philipsburg-Osceola’s Kaleb Stamm (running back) and Central’s Hoenstine (athlete). On defense, Tyrone had Kaleb Snook (line), Central’s Bryer Colyer (line) and Huntingdon’s Peck (linebacker).


Bellefonte: Julian Emel (center); Trevor Mauk (guard), J.D. Besch (tackle), C.J. Funk (running back); Clearfield: Quentin Bloom (guard), Jake Lezzer (receiver), Brett Zattoni (running back), Zach Hess (kicker); Penns Valley: John Aston (tackle), Logan Snyder (tight end), Aaron Tobias (quarterback); Bald Eagle Area: Gage McClenehan (athlete).


Clearfield: Alan Myers (center), Nick Domico (tight end); Huntingdon: Isaiah Reed (guard), Zack Peck (tackle); Penns Valley: Zach Royer (guard), Stephen Ripka (receiver), Gage Ripka (kicker); Bellefonte: Max Barrier (guard), Nick Kreger (tackle), Bald Eagle Area: Asher Burkett (tackle), Kaden Bittinger (receiver), Jaden Jones (quarterback), Tommy Snyder (running back); Tyrone: Damon Gripp (receiver); Central: Jeff Hoenstine (athlete); Philipsburg-Osceola: Kaleb Stamm (running back).


Bellefonte: Isaiah Nadolsky (end), Trevor Mauk (line), C.J. Funk (linebacker); Huntingdon: Isaiah Reed (end), Derrick Fultz (back), Andrew Miller (back); Bald Eagle Area: David Close (line); Penns Valley: Ben Sharer (line), Austin Fisher (linebacker), Stephen Ripka (specialist); Clearfield: Nick Domico (linebacker), Jake Lezzer (back); Central: Jeff Hoenstine (back); Tyrone: Cam Brandt (punter).


Penns Valley: John Aston (end), Logan Snyder (linebacker), Brennan Hyde (back); Bald Eagle Area: Tommy Snyder (end), Caleb Burns (line), Kaden Bittinger (back); Tyrone: Kaleb Snook (line); Central: Bryer Colyer (line); Bellefonte: Ethan Rossman (linebacker), Jalen Emel (back), Trae Bauman (back); Huntingdon: Zack Peck (linebacker); Clearfield: Zach Hess (punter).


Philipsburg-Osceola, which made it to the PIAA state finals in golf, was represented by four golfers on the boys team and three on the girls team.

Making on the girls side were Lindsey Bordas, Kylie Adams and Katie Ingle. Clearfield’s Christina McGinnis and McLain Alt, along with Bellefonte’s Rhianna Morris, round out the team.

For the boys, P-O’s Brandon Singer (MVP), Ky Bender, Chad Frank and Keagan Soltis made the team. Tyrone’s Brent McNeel and Jake Taylor rounded out the team.

Girls soccer

Bellefonte’s Mallorie Smith was voted the MVP in girls soccer. She was the lone Red Raider on the first team.

Huntingdon was well represented, thanks to Corinne Reamer, Mikaela Reed and Amanda Gwinn. She was joined by Tyrone’s Chloe LaRosa, Penns Valley’s Hannah Denger and Hannah Montminy, Bald Eagle Area’s Autumn Tobias, Zoey McHenry, Rachel Veneziano and Falen McHenry, along with Clearfield’s Elie Smith.

Second-team members included Huntingdon’s Sydney Sellers, Tyrone’s Natalie Salsgiver, Central’s Ella Garner and Alyssa Bartley, Clearfield’s Haley Moore, Amanda Hazel, Emily Shipley and Emma Hipps, Bellefonte’s Mia Johnson and Madison Steiner, Bald Eagle Area’s Sarah Holler and Penns Valley’s Kate Martell.

Boys soccer

Brady Hawkins of Huntingdon was voted the MVP in boys soccer. He was joined on the first team by teammates Alex Stratton and Andrew and James Buonaccorsi. Joining them on the team were Tyrone’s Aiden Taylor and Corey Johnston.

Rounding out the team were Clearfield’s Nathan Barr, Hugh Brickely and Andrew Lopez, Bald Eagle Area’s Peter Van Cise and Conner Robinson, along with Penns Valley’s Connor Martz.

The second team consisted of Huntingdon’s Isaac Snare, Tyrone’s Keagan Raabe and Mason Thomas, Penns Valley’s Caleb Narber and Michael Johnson, Bellefonte’s Zach Copertino and Daniel Persiko, Clearfield’s Luke Winters and Graeson Graves, along with Bald Eagle Area’s Dylan Hess and Dillon Barnyak.

Cross country

Tyrone placed two boys and two girls on the cross country teams. For the boys, Gavin Hoy and Matt Savino made the team, while on the girls side, Ella Pearson and Marissa Lewis made it for the Lady Eagles.

Rounding out the boys team are Penns Valley’s Colton Sands, Brenden Colwell and Daniel Kelly, Bellefonte’s Austin Melius and Chase Ebeling, along with Clearfield’s Ben Luzier.

For the girls, Philipsburg-Osceola’s Manna Potter made the team along with Penns Valley’s Kelsey Hull and Alexis Durn, Bellefonte’s Mia Elmore and Amaya Rothrock, along with Clearfield’s Avry Grumblatt.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)