Ruggery named all-state

Bishop Guilfoyle Catholic point guard Luke Ruggery has been named to the 2018-19 Pennsylvania Sports Writers All-State Boys Basketball first team in Class 2A for the second consecutive season.

Ruggery, who missed the first part of the season recovering from an offseason back injury, worked his way back into peak form by the playoffs and led Bishop Guilfoyle to a second consecutive District 6 title.

From there, he helped the Marauders on a magical run into the Class 2A championship game with victories over Farrell and Our Lady of Sacred Heart along the way.

“It means a lot and shows all the hard work and time you put in is worth it,” Ruggery said. “It’s nice to see it pay off for you in the postseason.”

Ruggery has already signed to play at Saint Francis.

Ruggery and teammate Jessiah Witherspoon, who was selected to Class 2A third team, lost 54-52 to Math, Civics & Sciences in the final.

“It’s an honor,” Ruggery said. “The players who were selected are all solid players who can get to the rim and shoot well, and to be on the list with my good friend Jessiah is an honor.

“I’m really happy for (Witherspoon). We all put in the work, and it’s really good for him going into his senior year.”

Juniata Valley senior Cameron Collins and Bishop Carroll junior Tristan McDannell both made the Class 1A second team for the second straight season. Collins’ Green Hornets topped McDannell’s Huskies in the District 6 title game.

Nick Rigby, who led Huntingdon to a second straight District 6 Class 4A title and a 22-0 regular season record this past year, made the Class 4A third team. Rigby is headed to Juniata to continue his basketball career.

Shade’s Brady Fyfe was selected to the Class 1A first team.

Other second-team picks from District 6 and District 5 included Collin Instone (3A, Richland), Jordan Poznanski (2A, Conemaugh Township), Troy Emert (1A, Rockwood) and Dawson Snyder (1A, Shanksville-Stonycreek).

Adam Cecere (3A, Forest Hills), Marrek Paola (3A, Ligonier Valley) and Andy Zuchelli (2A, North Star) were third-team selections.