Three PSU stars up for Hall of Fame honor

From Mirror, wire reports

Penn State football stars D.J. Dozier, Bobby Engram and Steve Wisniewski were selected on Tuesday as a part of the national ballot for the National Football Foundation’s College Hall of Fame’s Class of 2021.

A total of 78 players and seven coaches from FBS are on the 2021 ballot.

The trio of standouts have an opportunity to join 19 former Nittany Lion players and five Penn State coaches who have been inducted into the Hall.

Also on the Hall of Fame ballot is former Nittany Lion student-athlete Glenn Killinger, who is among the candidates for the divisional coach Class of 2021. Killinger was inducted into the Hall of Fame as a player in 1966.

Additionally, current Penn State wide receivers coach Taylor Stubblefield is on the ballot. Stubblefield was a wide receiver at Purdue (2001-04) and was a consensus All-American and a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award in 2004.

The ballot is headlined by Georgia cornerback Champ Bailey, Syracuse defensive end Dwight Freeney and Kansas State running back Darren Sproles who are appearing on the ballot for the first time.

There also are 99 players and 33 coaches from outside the highest level of college football eligible for induction.

Bailey was the Nagurski Award winner as the nation’s best defensive player in 1998, while also playing receiver and returning kicks for the Bulldogs.

Freeney holds the NCAA record for career sacks per game at 1.61 and was co-Big East defensive player of the year in 2001 for Syracuse.

Sproles finished fifth in Heisman voting in 2003 for the Wildcats.

Among the other notable players on the ballot for the first time are kickers Sebastian Janikowski of Florida State and Luis Zendejas of Arizona State and quarterback Ken Dorsey from Miami. Former Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops is also up for induction for the first time.

Heisman Trophy winners Carson Palmer from USC and Rashaan Salaam from Colorado are among those returning to the ballot.

The announcement of the Class will be made in early 2021. The awards will be presented on Dec. 7, 2021, at the New York Hilton Midtown.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today