Cowher, Ward highlight 2019 Steelers Hall of Fame class

PITTSBURGH — The Pittsburgh Steelers announced their 2019 Hall of Honor class this afternoon at an event at the Fred Rogers Center on the campus of Saint Vincent College. Four members were announced in this year’s class.

Bill Cowher, who coached the Steelers from 1992 to 2006, leads the class. During his 15 seasons as coach, the team won 149 games, eight division titles and made 10 playoff appearances. He led the Steelers to the Super Bowl twice, including a 21-10 victory over the Seattle Seahawks in Super Bowl XL.

Hines Ward, a wide receiver from 1998-2011 who became the team’s all-time leader in receptions, receiving yards and receiving touchdowns was also selected. He was named MVP of Super Bowl XL after catching five passes for 123 yards and the game-clinching 43-yard touchdown catch and was a four-time Pro Bowl selection.

The 2019 class also includes Larry Brown a tight end/tackle (1971-84) who spent 14 seasons with the Pittsburgh Steelers, including the first seven as a tight end before moving to tackle for the final seven years with the team.

He made three Pro Bowls and caught a 4-yard touchdown pass from Terry Bradshaw late in the fourth quarter to seal the Steelers’ victory in Super Bowl IX.

Elbie Nickel, a tight end from 1947-1957, finished his career with 329 receptions rounds out the class. He scored 37 career touchdowns, the eighth-most in Steelers history.

The 2019 Steelers Hall of Honor Induction ceremony will be held on Sunday, Sept. 29, at Heinz Field, the weekend the Steelers host the Cincinnati Bengals on Monday Night Football (Sept. 30). Each inductee will receive a replica of a solid steel football, which will replicate the original that was given to Steelers’ founder Arthur J. Rooney Sr. by the United States Steel Corporation and United Steel Workers in 1982 on the occasion of the team’s 50th Season.