Bucs’ ’20 opener in AL city

The Pittsburgh Pirates released their 2020 regular season schedule on Monday, which will feature the Bucs opening the season in Tampa Bay for three games beginning on Thursday, March 26.

It will mark the third time in four seasons — also 2017 at Boston and 2018 at Detroit — that the Pirates will begin their season against an American League opponent and the fourth straight season in which they will start the season on the road. Following the season-opening series at Tampa Bay from March 26-29, the Pirates will close out their first road trip of the season with a three-game series at Wrigley Field against the Cubs from March 30 through April 1.

The Pirates are scheduled to play the Cincinnati Reds in the home opener on Thursday, April 2, at 1:35 p.m. The Bucs will also host the Cubs for four games during the first homestand of the year from April 6-9.

The Pirates’ 2020 interleague schedule will feature visits by the New York Yankees from June 16-17, Toronto Blue Jays from June 19-21, Boston Red Sox from July 3-5 and Detroit Tigers from August 18-19.

Other highlights of the 2020 regular season schedule include:

n May 8-13: host the Phillies for a three-game weekend series followed by a three-game series against the Cardinals.

n June 16-21: a five-game homestand against the Yankees and Blue Jays.

n June 29 thru July 5: a six-game homestand against the Colorado Rockies and Boston Red Sox, which includes a 4:05 start on Saturday, July 4.

n July 31 thru August 9: the longest homestand of the season; three games against the Cardinals, three against the Brewers and four against the Arizona Diamondbacks.

n Sept. 22-27: host the Cubs and Reds in a six-game homestand to close out the 2020 campaign.

The entire schedule can also be found on pirates.com/schedule.