Shay, Malone lead Hollidaysburg to victory

The Hollidaysburg Area High School softball team jumped out to a 6-0 lead after two innings en route to a 15-1 win over Altoona Saturday at Logan Elementary School.

Sydney Shay went 3-for-5 with five RBIs for the Lady Tigers. She had a double and a home run as her team improved to 3-3.

Winning pitcher Maria Malone, who struck out 11 and walked one while scattering four hits, also had three hits, including a home run. Teammates Madison Alexy added two hits while Olivia Vincent homered.

Altoona (0-7) got an RBI from Grace Glasgow.


Hollidaysburg…. 330 031 5 — 15 12 1

Altoona……………000 001 0 — 1 4 2

2B–Alexy, Musselman, Shay (H). HR–Shay, Vincent, Malone (H). Multiple hits–Shay 3, Malone 3, Alexy 2 (H). WP–Malone. LP–Delozier. SO–Malone 11. BB–Malone 1, Delozier 3.

Records: Hollidaysburg (3-3), Altoona (0-7)

JV: Altoona, 5-4

IMCC golf begins

ROARING SPRING — The team of Rick Grubb, Keith McGraw, Mike Emerick and Len Snowberger shot a 57 to win top honors at the Opening Day Scramble at Iron Masters Country Club.

Second-place honors went to the team of Bryan James, Randy Jarratt, Stan Snyder and Jim Myers (60) while third-place honors were earned by Ed Smith, Ken Emigh, Duane Geisler and Zach Burket (61).

Nominations sought

The Mirror is seeking nominations for its annual high school sports recognition program.

Area high schools are invited to submit nominations for the Ron Rickens Sportsmanship Awards, the Dean Rossi Leadership Award and the Erin (Johnson) Kelly Award, which recognizes the area high school athlete who has overcome the most adversity.

The Rickens awards, which honor a deserving male and female athlete, are presented in memory of former local coach and referee Ron Rickens. Nominations should include supportive examples of sportsmanship, leadership, academic excellence and community service.

The Rossi award was introduced in 2016 and named in memory of former Hollidaysburg and Huntingdon athletic director Dean Rossi, who died in 2015. Nominations for the Rossi award should also include supportive examples of sportsmanship, leadership, academic excellence and community service.

The Johnson award is named for Erin (Johnson) Kelly, who despite being born without a left forearm scored 1,000 career points at Claysburg-Kimmel High School. She also played basketball at Penn State Altoona.

Winners will be announced at the 17th annual Mirror Athlete of the Year banquet on Monday, May 23.

Seniors are eligible from the Mirror’s core coverage area, which includes the following schools: Altoona Area, Bellwood-Antis, Bishop Carroll Catholic, Bishop Guilfoyle Catholic, Blair County Christian, Cambria Heights, Central, Central Cambria, Claysburg-Kimmel, Glendale, Great Commission, Hollidaysburg Area, Juniata Valley, Northern Bedford, Penn Cambria, Portage Area, Tyrone Area and Williamsburg.

Nominations should be sent by Wednesday, May 4 to Mirror Sports Editor Buck Frank at 301 Cayuga Avenue, Altoona, Pa., 16603 or emailed to bfrank@altoonamirror.com.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today