Area auto racing roundup

By Dottie Bird

For the Mirror


York Haven — Brent Marks claimed victory Sunday night at BAPS Motor Speedway.

After receiving a penalty for jumping the restart, the Myerstown, Pa., driver clawed his way to the front and passed Danny Dietrich on a late restart to capture the Select Collision Kevin Gobrecht Classic. The win was worth $5200.

In the 358 Modified main event, Billy Pauch Jr. led every circuit of the 30-Lap affair and was never challenged on his way to victory.


Port Royal — Anthony Macri charged forward from the sixth starting spot and held off a hard charging Brent Marks to earn his second victory of the season at Port Royal Speedway.

Rick Eckert capitalized on a front row starting position to earn his 11th career Port Royal Speedway River Valley Builders Super Late Model feature win. The win came after the series participated in dual heats earlier in the night with earned passing points.

Dave Grubr was the man to beat during a three car battle with Ken Duke Jr. and Kenny Heffer and he earned his second career Penns Valley Meat Market PA Sprint Series 305 Sprint Car victory at Port Royal Speedway Saturday night.


Reynoldsville — Fans and drivers from all over the area flocked to Hummingbird Speedway Saturday night for the 2021 season opener. The start of the season brought with it a couple of firsts for the Bird. It was the first points-paying race for our newly-formed Close Racing Supply Economod division.

Also, the Super6 Late Models made their first-ever visit to the track. Seven divisions of cars packed the pits for an action-packed night of racing. The night saw three opening night win streaks get extended with Bryce Swauger extending his opening night win streak to two in the Sunny 106.5 FM Pure Stocks, Bruce Hartzfeld extending his to four in the Cypress Clock & Gift Shop Pro Stocks, and Nick Erskine extending his to three in the Swanson Heavy Truck Repair Semi Late Models.

Other feature winners on the night included: Rodney Phillips in the Super-6 Late Models, Jarett Young in the Close Racing Supply Economods, Rich Wicker in the Carns Equipment Super Late Models, and Blake Joiner in the Andy-Man’s Car Care Four-Cylinders.


Clearfield — Defending Subway Late Model Point Champion Billy Eash of Johnstown picked up the opening night win while defending Hugill Sanitation Small Block Modified Champion Todd English of Clearfield did the same by winning an unusual feature event.

Other opening night winners included Williams Hudson of Clearfield in the TH Port A John Semi Lates, Dale Yaney of Corsica in the Winter’s Signs Street Stocks and Jeff Huber of Langville in the Little’s Auto Sales Four Cylinders.


Abbottstown — Chad Trout’s win at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday was an emotional one.

Trout attended a memorial service on Saturday afternoon for Mike Yeaple, a veteran traffic official that lost his battle with cancer in February. Trout and Yeaple raced micros together and Trout shared a touching story in victory lane as a testament to the wonderful person that Yeaple was to him. Trout’s win was his fifth at Lincoln and his first of the season.

The 358 Sprint Car Summer Series Kicked-off on Saturday at Lincoln after the originally scheduled first race was rained out. Jeff Rohrbaugh scored his 18th career win at Lincoln .528 seconds ahead of Foster. Hartlaub crossed the line third and Frank finished fourth. Scott completed the top five.

Jeff Paulson and Scott Rickrode shared the front row for the 15-lap Pen-Mar Vintage feature. Paulson held on for the win.


Selinsgrove — Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove made a late-race pass by Steve Buckwalter of Royersford to take the victory in Saturday night’s Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series “Battle of the Groves” 25-lap main event on Riteway Sealing & Paving Night.

Heimbach earned $4,000 for his 41st career 358-360 sprint car win at the track at the wheel of the Creasy Signs/Packers Concessions No. 12. He was the winner of the first and only ASCS race that was held at the track in 2018.

Andrew Yoder of Middleburg out-dueled Devin Hart of Port Royal to score the win in the 20-lap limited late model season opener.

Two-time defending roadrunner champion Jake Jones of Hunlock Creek won the 12-lap roadrunner race.


Hagerstown — The 21 of Jakob Piper took the early lead and led for the first half of the race in the Late Model Sportsman event. Once he got to lap traffic, the 88 of Barry Miller caught and passed Piper. A caution came out just at the right time for Piper and he retook his lead back because the lap wasn’t completed. Miller took the lead for good on the restart and cruised to victory.

Jeremy Tinsman wins in a thriller in Pure Stocks after passing Cody Kershner in the last corner. Kershner charged to the front early after starting fifth but could not hold off Tinsman in the end.

Trevor Larrick won a wild Hobby Stock Feature. The race saw six cautions, including a big four car pileup in turn one on the first lap that involved Scot Sipes, who was undefeated in the class going into the night. The 30-minute time limit came into effect at the end after multiple cautions plagued the event. Larrick won under the caution flag.

Ray Love Jr. took the checkered flag in the Crate Late Model event. After a piece from the left front fender came loose early in the event, he still was able to keep great pace and pulled away to the easy victory.

The Interstate Battery Hard Charger Award is awarded to the driver who gains the most positions in the Pure Stock and Late Model Sportsman’s Divisions. Keith Koontz gained 15 positions in the Late Model division and Zachary Myers gained seven positions in Pure Stocks.


Mill Hall — Andrew Yoder of Selinsgrove led every lap of the 25 lap Limited Late Model feature to claim 17th career win and his first win of the season at the Clinton County Speedway.

Brandon Moser of Millerstown and Johnny Smith of Scranton were repeat winners in the Pro Stocks and 600 Micro Sprints. Jeffrey Weaver of Lock Haven won the 270 Micro Sprints, Blake Snyder of Montgomery won the 4-Cylinders and Chloe Smith won the Junior 4-Cylinder division.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today