Bedford football team honored by LHAC

SOMERSET — The Bedford Area High School football team went 7-0 to claim the Laurel Highlands Athletic Conference championship in 2020, and coach Kevin Steele was honored as the LHAC coach of the year.

Bedford all-LHAC selections included Mercury Swaim and Ashton Dull on offense and Steven Ressler and Elijah Cook on defense.

Bishop Guilfoyle representatives were Keegan Myrick and Konner Kiesewetter on offense, and Andrew Yanoshak and Cameron Maloney on defense.

Cambria Heights had Ryan Bearer and Ryan Haluska on offense and Cody Schreyer and Hayden Malloy on defense.

Penn Cambria was represented by Garrett Harrold and Nick Marinak on offense and Brandon Storm and Zach Eckenrode on defense.

Central Cambria had Hobbs Dill and Nate Wyrwas on offense and Levi Keiper and Eric Mertens on defense.

Chestnut Ridge was led by Logan Pfister and Matt Whysong on offense, and Dominick Claar and Trevor Weyandt on defense.


Bishop McCort: Amir Andrews, Ethan Marcozzi, offense; Brendon Bair, Jordan Page, defense. Forest Hills: Zach Myers and Damon Crawley, offense; Gaven Blough, Easton Toth, defense. Johnstown: Jack Thomas, Wade Knipple, offense; Cody Barrett, Symeon Kobal, defense. Richland: Kellan Stahl, Griffin Larue, offense; Connor Rager, Bryce Batche, defense. Somerset: Ethan Hemminger, Brad Bruner, offense; Isaac Svonavec, Brett Meehleib, defense. Westmont Hilltop: Roy Dunn, Tanner Dluhos, offense; Felice Panebiano, Thomas Jeffries, defense.

Cross country

Central Cambria’s Randy Wilson was the boys cross country coach of the year, and CC’s Toby Cree and Stella Kuntz made all-conference.

Other area cross country picks were Eli Blaisdell and Maelyn Kutruff of Bishop Carroll, Conner Ratchford and Jaden Quinn of Bishop Guilfoyle, Brock Eckenrode and Maggie McMullen of Cambria Heights, Logan Michina and Sydney Dignan of Penn Cambria, Nate Scritchfield and Meah Eshelman of Bedford and Calan Bollman and Ava Whysong of Chestnut Ridge.

Mike Harchick of Westmont Hilltop was the girls coach of the year.


Bishop McCort: Christian Haberkorn, Madeleine Oliveros. Forest Hills: Jude Martyak, Delaney Dumm. Richland: Charlie Levander, Ahna Stewart. Somerset: Andrew Straka, Jade Williams. Westmont Hilltop: Rigel Voelker, Grace Brawley.


Bishop Guilfoyle coach Mark Scalice was named LHAC coach of the year in golf after the Marauders won the league title. AJ Marasco was the BG player selection.

Other area golf picks were Bishop Carroll’s Dino Menie, Central Cambria’s Ian Mulligan and Megan Stevens, Penn Cambria’s Greg Caldwell and Marlie Krug, Bedford’s Matt Tokarczyk and Chestnut Ridge’s Cameron Garrett.


Bishop McCort: Lukas Cascino. Forest Hills: Mitchell Costlow. Richland: Austin Artim. Somerset: Andrew Platt. Westmont Hilltop: Zane Hoover and Alyssa Kush.


Bedford’s Jeff Thomas and Barrett Schrock were the girls and boys soccer coaches of the year, respectively, after each winning LHAC titles.

Area girls representatives were Lindsay Mowry and Robyn Casalena of Bedford, Molly Krumenacker and Ellie Long of Bishop Carroll, Lainey Farabaugh and Dani Scipioni of Bishop Guilfoyle, Karli Storm and Cassie Gooderham of Cambria Heights, Abigail Thomas and Ella Vrabel of Central Cambria, Gabby Mishler and Ella McDonald of Chestnut Ridge, and Julia Podrasky and Taylor Rabatin of Penn Cambria.

Boys honored included Bedford’s Chase DeLong and David Gresh, BC’s Jackson Hudkins and Ewin Makovich, BG’s Alexander Pownall and Brennen Myrick, Heights’ Seth Conaway and Loegen Smeal, CC’s Corey Roberts and Garrett Heeney, Ridge’s Jack Moyer and Simon Osman, and Penn Cambria’s Dominic Landi and Reed Niebauer.


Bishop McCort: Caroline Ingram, Libby McCullough, Carson Boyle, Isaac Thornton. Forest Hills: Lydia Roman, Olivia Guillarmod, Cayce McCall, Jacob Flynn-Long. Johnstown: Jayla Morales, Noelle Smith, Nate Beckman, Andrew Baumgardner. Richland: Bella Burke, Carly Colvin, Cullen O’Dowd, Trent Rozich. Somerset: Emma Luteri, Willa Sharbaugh, Ian Lasure, McKay Ross. Westmont Hilltop: Parker Marion, Morgan Faight, Reilly Malcolm, Connor Oechslin.

Girls tennis

Four-time District 6 Class 2A singles tennis runner-up and four-time doubles champion Olivia Ratchford of Central Cambria was named all-conference.

Dan Fregley of conference champion Westmont Hilltop was the coach of the year.

Other area all-stars included Bishop Guilfoyle’s Erin Talko, Bedford’s Josie Shuke and Chestnut Ridge’s Delana Kissell.


Bishop McCort: Jayden Leckey. Forest Hills: Macie Poborski. Richland: Melanie Gerko. Somerset: Kylie Walker. Westmont Hilltop: Alyssa Kush.

Girls volleyball

Forest Hills’ Cassie Layman was the girls volleyball coach of the year for leading the Lady Rangers to the conference title.

Area selections included Bishop Carroll’s Ellie Long, Bishop Guilfoyle’s Lyzee Wilson, Cambria Heights’ Amber Farabaugh, Central Cambria’s Eden Shirk, Penn Cambria’s Maddi Laret, Bedford’s Riley Stahlman and Chestnut Ridge’s Belle Bosch.


Bishop McCort: Ally Diamond. Forest Hills: Madeline Cecere. Johnstown: Ashley Eckenrod. Richland: Logan Roman. Somerset: Anna Lane. Westmont Hilltop: Lauren Lavis.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today