District all-star volleyball team released for Class 2A

Tyrone Area High School senior Makenna Bauer was recently selected to the District 6 Class 2A All-District Volleyball First Team.

Bauer, a senior outside hitter, was joined by Philipsburg-Osceola’s Janey Johnson, Kalista Butler and Reese Hazelton, Northern Cambria’s Maggie Hogan and Camryn Dumm, Bald Eagle Area’s Lexi Skripek, Maddie Perry, Brynne Bisel and Madison Eckley, Forest Hills’ Madeline Cecere and Penns Valley’s Jadyn Butler.

Tyrone’s Courtney Williams and Mattie Cherry made the second team, along with Cambria Heights’ Amber Farabaugh, Central Cambria’s Maddy Kim, P-O’s London Cutler, Northern Cambria’s Jess Krug and Emma Kollar, Penns Valley’s Cameron Upcraft, BEA’s Claire Andrews, and Forest Hills’ Kenzie Colosimo, Lexington Koeck and Taylor Burda.

Honorable mention picks included Central Cambria’s Alli Malay and Leah Burggraf, Cambria Heights’ Kendall Conrad and Dalia Morchesky, and Penn Cambria’s Maddi Laret and Chloe Guzic.

District 5 stars

District 5 Class 2A champion Chestnut Ridge placed two players on the District 5 2A All-District Volleyball First Team.

Ridge was represented by senior Alaina Lafferty and sophomore Belle Bosch. Bedford first-teamers included Raquel Imler, Riley Stahlman and Natalie Lippincott, and Everett had Aly Daley.

Other first-teamers were North Star’s Sydnee Ashbrook and Windber’s Amanda Cominsky.

The Class 1A first team consisted of Shanksville-Stonycreek’s Josie Snyder and Rylee Snyder, Berlin Brothersvalley’s Grace Dorcon, Fannett-Metal’s Hailey Hill, Shade’s Taylor Rapsky and Conemaugh Township’s Madison Showalter.

Altoona’s picks

The Altoona Area High School football team’s players of the week for Nov. 9-13 are Ethan Stroup (offense), Connor Reimer (defense), Andre Dokes (special teams) and Shamus Walker (lineman).

PSU inks two

UNIVERSITY PARK — Two signees inked their National Letters of Intent during the November signing period to join the Penn State women’s basketball program and head coach Carolyn Kieger.

Ymke Brouwer of Zurich, Switzerland, and Kayla Thomas of Beltsville, Md., will comprise the Class of 2025.

“Ymke and Kayla bring much-needed size to our roster,” Kieger said.

Fergusons shine

HOLLIDAYSBURG — The team of Greg Ferguson and Andrew Ferguson shot a 32 recently to win the 2020 Cross Country Scramble at the Scotch Valley Country Club.

Finishing in a three-way tie for second place at 33 were the teams of Spencer and Ron Hinish, Anthony DeGol and Jeff Corey and Eric Davis and Gaige Orndoff.

Flight winners on the day included Levi Delozier-Neil Hollander (first flight 33), Adam Landolfi-Christian Kerstetter (second flight 35), Josh Campbell-Dave Binus (third flight 32), Keith Deal-Steve Ramsey (fourth flight 37), Randy Harris-Mark Hinton (38) and Butch Oshaven-Chuck Koshak (sixth flight 40).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today