Dziabo, DeGol triumph

Scotch Valley golf invitational

HOLLIDAYSBURG — As the sun was setting on a beautiful September afternoon, David DeGol Jr. calmly rolled in a 15-foot downhill putt on the 18th hole to clinch the 2020 Scotch Valley Invitational.

The par putt capped a 1-up victory in the championship flight for DeGol and partner Quintin Dziabo over the brother duo of Anthony and Dennis DeGol Jr.

“I felt good over the putt and thought I had had a pretty good read,” David DeGol Jr. said. “We really wanted to close out the match there, and I was happy to see that putt go in.”

The championship match got off to a rocky start for DeGol and Dziabo as they found themselves two down after two holes. However, a birdie on the ninth hole brought the teams all even going into the back-nine. The match stayed that way until a birdie on the par-5, 14th gave Dziabo and DeGol a 1-up lead.

Anthony DeGol squared the match on the next hole with birdie of his own, and the teams headed to the16th hole. It was there that Dziabo and DeGol seized control of the match when Dziabo drained a 20-foot birdie putt. The teams traded pars on No. 17 before DeGol sank his par-clinching putt on the final hole.

“That putt on 16 was the turning point. It gave us a lot of momentum,” Dziabo said. “That was the best putt I made all day.”

“We played really well the whole weekend,” DeGol added. “Quintin’s a great partner. Whenever one of us needed the other’s help, we were always there.”

The team made plenty of birdies on the final day, with eight of them coming in the first 16 holes of their morning, semifinal match.

“David is one of the best putters in the area, and he’s a pleasure to play with,” Dziabo said. “You have to be on your game when you against those two guys. Dennis played great, and Anthony is definitely the best player in the area.”

The DeGol team was gracious in defeat, with Anthony falling just short of winning his sixth-straight local best-ball event this summer.

“Quintin and David are really good players, and they played well today,” Dennis DeGol Jr said. “They deserved to win.”


Championship Flight: 1. Quintin Dziabo & David DeGol Jr. 2. Anthony DeGol & Dennis DeGol Jr. 3. Artie Fink Jr & Todd Homan. First Flight: 1. Mac Rosenbaum & Trent Martin. 2. Greg Ferguson & Derek Fink. 3. Doug Meyers & Chris Nelson. Second Flight: 1. Grant Delozier & Danny Stubbs. 2. Derek McAlkich & Andrew Smith. 3. Cory Perry & Brad Mikolajczyk. Third Flight: T1. Dennis Walter Jr & TJ Moore. T1. John Zach & Mike Springer. 3. Brad Maier & Mike Maier. Fourth Flight: 1. Jeff Wolfe & Justin Ohler. 2. Rick Slebodnik & Mike Reese. 3. Jason Steinbugl & Tim Noye. Fifth Flight: T1. Terry Funcheon & Francis Pirozzola. T1. Michael Garrity & William Garrity. T3. Chad Hooper & Curt Melton. T3. Mike Eardley & Aaron Harr. Sixth Flight: 1. Mike Eppolito & Dick Smith. 2. Jason Bihary & Mike O’Connor. 3. Mike Fitch & Gaige Orndoff. Seventh Flight: 1. Dan Green Jr & Dave Elliot. 2. Richard Fiore Jr & Dan Green Jr. 3. TJ Hileman & Doug Irvin.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today