Larson holds on to win at Port Royal Speedway

Local racing

PORT ROYAL — Kyle Larson overtook Logan Wagner on lap 10 and held off the heavy pursuit of Brent Marks and Rico Abreu for the remaining 20 laps to pick up his first career win in the second annual Greg Hodness Classic at the Port Royal Speedway.

The win was worth more than $10,000.

Larson also earned an additional $1,027 courtesy of Ron Rutherford and fans for stopping the streak of four in a row by Anthony Macri, who had kicked off the night by earning $250 for fast time.

The final caution of the evening flew with one lap to go when Macri slowed on the front stretch, thus guaranteeing a new winner for the first time in four races and giving Brent Marks and Rico Abreu one last shot.

When the green flag flew, Larson jumped out to a sizeable advantage. He crossed the finish line exactly 1.556 seconds over Marks, Abreu, Brock Zearfoss and Lance Dewease.

Logan Wagner, Mike Wagner, Ryan Smith, Kyle Reinhardt and AJ Flick rounded out the top 10.


WILLIAMS GROVE SPEEDWAY: Kyle Larson grabbed the lead from Brent Marks and then went on to win the Mitch Smith Memorial Friday night at the Williams Grove Speedway. Larson’s first career Williams Grove win was worth $15,000.

Lance Dewease set quick time over the 38-car field with a lap of 17.330 and he also won the opening eight-lap heat race. Brian Montieth won the second heat. Three laps were completed in the third heat race when a rain shower hit the track. After a delay, racing resumed and Marks held off Larson to win the third heat. TJ Stutts won the final heat. Matt Campbell won the B-main.

HIDDEN VALLEY SPEEDWAY: Joey Petyak led a string of four new winners at the Hidden Valley Speedway in Clearfield Saturday night with a win in the sprint feature. Other new winners included Duke Davidson in the street stocks, Tim Steis in the pure stock special and Chris Anderson in the four-cylinder race. Repeat winners included Rich Wicker in the semi-lates and Todd English in the small-block modifieds.

PATH VALLEY SPEEDWAY: Steve Wilbur appeared to have the wingless super sportsman feature wrapped up at the Path Valley Speeday on Saturday. He had a commanding lead throughout the first half of the race until Joey Biasi got his car dialed in. Wilbur fought back for several laps, but Biasi eventually passed him on the high side and claimed the victory. In the 600cc micros, Mike Thompson made his return to Path Valley with a victory over Logan Rumsey. Parker Starr claimed victory over Kevin Bard in the thunder car division after some slight contact between the two allowing Starr to pass Bard and take the lead and win. Adam Campbell won the four-cylinder strictly stock race over Justin Williamson. The 270cc micro sprints race was won by Cory Myers over Brent Shearer.

CLINTON COUNTY SPEEDWAY: Andrew Yoder recorded his 14th career victory in the limited late model feature event in a field of 29 cars at the Clinton County Speedway. Other winners were A.J. Stroup in the pro stocks, Jeffery Weaver in the 270 micro-sprints, Cody Hauck in the 600 micro-sprints and Maddox Smith in the four-cylinder division.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today