Tremmel’s 279, two 300s highlight Altoona USBC Open

The second annual Altoona District USBC Association Open Tournament for 140 area bowlers was recently held at Holiday Bowl where some of the highlights included two 300 games, a series over 800 and a big-time game-high from Lori Tremmel on the ladies’ side.

Gus Soellner and Artie Fink each fired a 300, while Kelly Shaw turned in an 814 series. Tremmel also bowled a game-high 279.

The winner of the open team handicapped division was 10 High (Joe Harbula, Dan Carper Sr., Shaw and Bruce Knisely). Following in second was Haglee’s Home Improvements (Tony Kovaloski, Randy Miles, Eric Miles and Vince Cieslewicz III). In the open team scratch division, the winner was Artie’s Team (Fink, Zack Robertson, Ricky Brown Jr. and Rob Hippo). Second place went to Whatever (Eric Kirchner, John Slowik Jr., Justin Horton and Jim Moore).

In the seniors division, the handicapped winning team was ARK Financial (Tim Hallinan, John Yingling, Dave Frederick and John Frederick). Second place went to Ballbusters (Jeff Hollingshed, Mike Gill, Barry Himes and Rufus Bex III). In the scratch division, first place was won by Moore’s Crew (Jim Moore, Chuck Helsel, Mike Harpster, Ralph Hamilton). Second place to M&M&M&M (Brenda Miller, Alvin Miller, Beth Monahan, Stephen Monahan).

In the women’s division, Livin’ On a Spare (Linda Blake, Emily Shylock, Karen Mentzer, Jill Brown) won the handicapped division, while the scratch division was won by WOW Factor (Nicole Watt, Anne Saclaro, Toni Watt, Crystal Bartley).

The mixed team handicapped winners were 2Cs and 2Ds (Christine Clever, Fred Clever, Eileen Delozier, Walt Delozier), while the scatch winners were Moore’s Team (Moore, Kelsey Focht, Breanne Hover, Chuck Helsel).

In doubles action, the open handicapped winners were Joe Harbula-Bruce Knisely, while Jim and Andrew Pittman were second. Jason Sincavage and Fink won the scratch division with Hippo and Brown second. In the senior division, Hallinan and Yingling won the handicapped title, while John Wertz and Rod Kegg were second. Beth and Stephen Monahan won the scratch title with Moore and Helsel second. Women’s winners were Edie Frederick and Katlin Webb in the handicapped division, while Linda Blake and Shylock took second. Bartley and Toni Watt won the scratch title, while Julie Fox and Nicole Watt were second.

Kovalski won the singles open handicapped title with Larry Baker taking second. The scratch open winner was Soellner with Josh Smith taking second. On the ladies side, Nicole Watt won the handicapped title over Blake, while Bartley won the scratch title over Focht.

In seniors play, Wertz won the handicapped title over John McIntyre. Moore won the scratch title over Bryan Ott.

The all-events winner was Kovalski over Harbula in handicapped play, while Soellner won over Brown in scratch play. Toni Watt won over Eileen Mock in the women’s handicapped division, while Nicole Watt won over Bartley in the scratch division. In senior play, Wertz won over Yingling in handicapped play, while Moore won over Stephen Monahan in scratch play.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today