Brown-Rohrbaugh among four teams alive in semifinals

Three of the four remaining teams in the championship flight of the 2019 Reliance Bank Park Hills Classic are past champions after play Saturday.

Second-round play was completed late Saturday afternoon as golfers endured the continuing, local heat wave. After two days of match play, each of the six flights has been paired down from 16 to four teams.

Semifinal matches will begin this morning for all remaining golfers with winning teams in all six flights advancing to the tournament finals in the afternoon.

In the championship flight, Dan Brown and Patrick Rohrbaugh (2017 and 2018 champions) and will face off against Ralph Litrenta and Joe George (2009 champs) in the first semifinal match, while 2014 champions Chris Perry and Mike Macionsky square off against Anthony DeGol and Trent Karlik in the other.

In the first flight, the four teams still vying for the top spot include Bryan James and David Snyder, Drew Michanowicz and Damian Williams, Nick Gates and Andy Miller, and Ryan Clouse and Adam Landolfi.

The beaten-eight titles for each flight will also be decided today.

Today’s championship finals are due to tee off in the early afternoon. The public is welcome to attend.

Other semifinals are: Second Flight: Bryan Hershberger and Travis Elden vs. David Richards and Bob Natale, Mike Raley and Brian Hehr vs. Doug Mort and Alan Houk. Third Flight: Greg Johnston and Duke Neatrour vs. John Sisto and Thomas Hileman, Dan Green Sr. and Dan Green Jr. vs. Bruno DeGol and Leonard Fiore. Fourth Flight: Matt Baker and John Baker vs. Chuck Wyper and Jesse Betar, David Consiglio and Andrew Consiglio vs. Tim Clapper and Tom Haught. Fifth Flight: John Kutz and RJ Albarano vs. Ethan Ruggles and Aaron Kovach, Joel Meadows and Allen Beck vs. John Kachur and Matt Cutshall.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)