Szynal honored as CPL top coach

Scholastic all-stars

Hollidaysburg Area High School’s Jon Szynal was named the Central Penn Baseball League coach of the year for 2019.

Szynal led Hollidaysburg to the league title.

Altoona infielder Matt Hartman made the CPL all-star team for the second straight season. He was joined on the all-star team with teammate Marcus Day, an outfielder.

Others on the all-star team included Williamsport’s Drake Mankey (catcher), Brayton Rowello and Kyle Caringi (infielders), Dallas Griess (outfielder) and Jonathan Zayas (pitcher), Saint Marys’ Brandon Sicheri (outfielder) and Nate Beimel (utility and pitcher), and DuBois’ Dayne Bauman (infielder) and Dylan McCluskey (outfielder).

LHAC all-conference

Greg Lazor helped Chestnut Ridge become the Laurel Highlands Athletic Conference softball champion in 2019, and he was honored as the LHAC coach of the year.

All-LHAC softball selections included Ridge’s Makayla Weyant, Bedford’s Katelyn Brunelli, Bishop Carroll’s Amber Beck, Bishop Guilfoyle’s Amelia Morning, Cambria Heights’ Karli Storm, Central Cambria’s Ashley Deetscreek and Penn Cambria’s Sydnie Reese.

All-LHAC baseball sections included Bedford’s Nate Semanek, Bishop Carroll’s Logan Gottshall, Bishop Guilfoyle’s Danny Carrieri, Cambria Heights’ Seth Link, Central Cambria’s Devin Renzi, Chestnut Ridge’s Derrick Weaver and Penn Cambria’s Josh Krise.

Steve Costea was the baseball coach of the year for league champ Somerset.

Central Cambria’s Matt Miller and Randy Wilson were the boys and girls track and field coaches of the year, respectively, for leading their teams to conference titles.

All-LHAC boys track picks included Bedford’s Wes Lippincott and Andrew Foor, Bishop Carroll’s Trevor Hogue and Kaleb Hilyer, BG’s Paul Liebal and Keegan Myrick, Cambria Heights’ Zach Farabaugh and Liam Wholaver, Central Cambria’s Ohm Vyas and Harrison Brumbaugh, Ridge’s Duane Knisely and Logan Pfister, and Penn Cambria’s Jake Tsikalas and Jacob Weigand.

All-LHAC girls track selections included Bedford’s Natalie Lippincott and Ashley Ferguson, BC’s Maddie Murphy and Caroline Ratchford, BG’s Aurielle Brunner and Gianna Georgiana, Heights’ Emily Henry and Kaitlyn Bailey, Central Cambria’s Paige Wess and McKenna Hayward, Ridge’s Taylar Hillegas and Macy Walason, and Penn Cambria’s Lyric Janosik and Olivia Papi.

Bedford’s Butch Beidle was honored as the LHAC boys tennis coach of the year after leading the Bisons to the team title.

Among the all-LHAC boys tennis picks were Bedford’s Caleb Beidle, BG’s Ryan Talko and Central Cambria’s Dalton Baker.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today