Westhafer wins at Williams Grove

Mechanicsburg – Rodney Westhafer outraced Lucas Wolfe to win Friday night’s 25-lap 410 sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway while in the 358 sprint main Adrian Shaffer pulled a last lap pass on Phil Walter to take the victory.

Westhafer started second in the field with Wolfe on the pole and as it would turn out, Westhafer led the entire way for the win, the second of his career at the oval.

Port Royal Speedway

Port Royal – Greg Hodnett put on a passing clinic on Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway to claim the 25-lap sprint car feature after starting in the 13th spot.

Hodnett became just the second driver in four years to claim posted bonus money for driving to a regular event win from a starting position behind the first five rows. The victory was his 37th at the oval.

Mike Lupfer made it back-to-back wins in the super late model division by outracing Dylan Yoder for the 22-lap victory for the second week in a row as well in what was an exciting stock car main.

In the 18-lap econo late model main, Eric Irvin drove to his first victory in the division at the track in its two-year history, while Kurt Zimmeran won the all American Outlaws feature event.


HAGERSTOWN SPEEDWAY: Kyle Hardy had no problem in leading the late model field all the way Saturday evening and winning the $2,500 Western Maryland Challenge between Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol and Cumberland Raceway. The triumph was also a good tuneup for the upcoming prestigious Dirt Capitol event, the Rodney Franklin “Salute to a Champion.”

Hardy won the season opener on a day surface and now his second at night and also needs one more to tie last year’s total, which included his Dirt Capitol first. Hardy held a commanding lead over Roy Deese Jr. the entire race with only one caution to slow his pace. Deese ended up settling for his third consecutive runner up finish 1.85 seconds back.

Other divisions ran Small Car National Qualifiers for the ninth annual event coming up in September as Justin Weaver won the Malloy Ford Late Model Sportsman feature following a 10th-lap restart. Craig Parrill raced hard with three-time winner Mike Corbin and posted his second victory in the K-Lynn Management Pure Stocks with a final turn pass. Fresh off a Potomac win in last week’s opener, Ed Pope passed previous week’s Dirt Capitol winner Gary Proctor with two to go and won my five lengths in the Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stocks.

LINCOLN SPEEDWAY: “We were far from the best car. Starting position was everything tonight,” said former track champ Lance Dewease after claiming his 38th career win at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night

Jake Jones became the third driver in three divisions to start on the outside pole and win a feature event on the night, claiming the 20-lap Precise Racing Products Lincoln/Trail-Way season point series opener for the 358 late models. His win established a new track record for the 358 late models with a time of 5 minutes, 59.65 seconds.

SUSQUEHANNA SPEEDWAY: Chase Billet claimed the victory in the BRC Late Models on York County Racing Club Night at the Susquehanna Speedway Park on Saturday night. Chris Derr took the checkers of the street stock 20-lapper. Steve Storrie picked up the win in the 20-lap IMCA PA Sprint Series feature event. Alex Updegraff won the Xtreme Stock Car 20-lapper. The 15-lap Road Warrior feature was won by Ricky Weaver. Zakari Kitner claimed the 12-lap mini van feature.