Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | School Notes | Contact Us | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS


August 24, 2014
The Altoona Mirror

Readers are encouraged to send or deliver old local photographs of general interest for use in Yesteryear. Information about people and places should be included. Photos must be 30 years old or older and should be sent to Yesteryear, Altoona Mirror, P.O. Box 2008, Altoona, PA 16603, or delivered to the Editorial Department.

Article Photos

Lucy Wolf of Hollidaysburg submitted this photo of members of the Bench and Bar of Blair County from 1810-1883. Shown are (from left)?top row — Johnathan D. Leet, Hon. Thaddeus Banks, S.M. Woodcock, R.A. McMurtrie, J. Horace Smith, John K. Patterson, David H. Hoefius, M.M. McNeil, H.H. Snyder, James G. Flanigan, John Brotherline, Hon. James M. Bell and William Williams; second row — Hon. Edmund Shaw, William L. Woodcock, J.S. Leisenring, William S. Hammond, N.P. Mervine, Hon. George Taylor, Daniel L. Neff, Hon. Augustine S. Landis, Augustus V. Dively, Thomas H. Greevy, Edward H. Flick, Harry T. Heinsling and H.C. Madden; third row — Milton Alexander, J. Lee Plummer, W.I. Woodcock, Hon. J.D. Hicks, W.L. Hicks, District Attorney Hon. Martin Bell, President Judge Hon. Jeremiah S. Black, Hon. John Dean, Supreme Court Judge A.A. Stevens, Charles Geesey, George Dobynd, Edwin M. Aimes and D. Clare Good; fourth row — William H. Bridenbaugh, H.A. McFadden, Thomas J. Baldridge, H.M. Baldridge, Matthew Calvin, Hon. Samuel Calvin, Hon. Samuel S. Blair, John D. Blair, O.H. Hewit, Harry O. Hewit, Hon. Benjamin L. Hewit and A.W. Porter; fifth row — Andrew H. McCamant, C.O. Templeton, A.S. Fisher, J. Banks Kurtz, David E. North, Charles B. Clark, Hon. George H. Spang, Hon. M.M. Morrow, James H. Craig, George B. Bowers, H. Price Graffius, William B. Manley and Jonathan A. Doyle; sixth row — W.E. Mackey, Clyde E. Brown, M.A. Young, Frank H. Fay, R.A. Henderson, H.A. Davis, Thomas C. Hare, W.C. Fletcher, B.F. Warfel, I.M. Irwin, W. Frank Vaughn, Samuel L. Stoner and William H. Cover; bottom row — William W. Flanigan, Samuel B. Hare, Harry P. Walters, John M. Snyder, F.T. Morrow, H.W. Culp, Robert W. Smith, Samuel E. Morrow, J.F. Meck, C.J. McCullough, John F. Sullivan, J. Austin Sullivan and N.B. Madden. Judge Jeremiah Sullivan Black was instrumental in establishing the Blair County Bar Association. Today, Judge Black is honored via the local chapter of Inn of Court. Black presided at the opening of the first court in Blair County on July 27, 1849.

I am looking for: