Blair 4-H/FFA holds junior livestock banquet

Courtesy photos The 2019 Blair County Junior Livestock Show Champions are (from left): front row — Lynnae Dibert, Luke Uplinger, Kade Rhule, Mason Benfer (representing Madison Benfer) and Austin Frye; back row — Lacey Lynn, Garrison Dibert, Hunter Stultz, Cassandra Michelone and Karly Diebold.

WILLIAMSBURG — The Blair County Junior Livestock clubs held their annual banquet Oct. 1 at the Williamsburg Farm Show Building.

Special guests at the banquet were sponsors and buyers from the show and sale held in August.

The officers from each club helping with the program were: Emily Long (emcee), Austin Frye, Scott Sessamen, Garrison Dibert, Lily Sollenberger, Mason Benfer, Karly Diebold and Adam Uplinger.

The 4D Flowers (Chris and Barb Doyle) donated mums for the door prizes and pumpkins for the club officers at the head table.

CBT Bank of Williamsburg sponsored the high point mugs for each club and also presented each beef member a rate of gain check.

The 2019 Blair County 4-H Outstanding Livestock Members are (from left): front row — Madison Ross, Katie Ross, Konstantina Crull, Lynnae Dibert and Ashley Sollenberger; back row — Cassandra Michelone, Karly Diebold, Kara Lansberry, Lily Sollenberger and Rylee Stultz.

The awards given by each of the following clubs were:

Blair County Bouncing Bunnies 4-H Club

Leader: Peggy Sessamen.

High Point Award: Marlyna Borman, senior; Steven Sessamen, intermediate.

Little Cow Tails

Leaders: Kristy Bigelow and Katie Bigelow.

High Point Award: Lily Sollen-berger, senior; Isabelle Anderson, intermediate; Mikayla Sollenberger, junior; Madison Ross, first year.

Project Book Award: 12 and older: Jack Hileman: younger than 12: Aubrey Anderson.

Lamb Chops

Leaders: Jim and Michele Michelone and Jack and Peggy Mock.

High Point Award: Cassandra Michelone, senior; Kara Lansberry, intermediate; Rylee Stultz, junior; Katie Ross, first year.

Shepherd Contest: Senior — Cas-sandra Michelone, first; Junior — Anna Longenecker, first; First Year — Katie Ross, first.

Rate of Gain: Katie Ross, first; Kara Lansberry, second.

Ewe Award: Katie Ross, first; Anna Longenecker, second.

Cooking Contest: Tori Longenecker, first; Katie Ross, second; Cassandra Michelone, third.

Guess of Weight: Lamb: Tori Longenecker, first. Goat: Kat Longenecker, first.

Perfect Attendance: Katie Ross, Katheryn Longenecker, Garrison Dibert, Victoria Longenecker, Rylee Stultz, Lynnae Dibert, Casssandra Michelone, Anna Longenecker, Kara Stultz, Ean Snowberger, Tristin Caporuscio and Kara Lansberry.

Housekeeping Award, sponsored by Scott Sessamen: Katie Ross.

Rate of Gain for each member was sponsored by Phil Keith, Keith Truck and Equipment Sales.

Blair County Swine Club

Leaders: Rob and Tammy Stultz.

High Point Award: Cassandra Michelone, senior; Taylor Uplinger, intermediate; Elle Dilling, junior; Nathan Carney, first year.

Tail Twister Community Club

Leaders: Chris and Barb Doyle.

High Point Award: Karly Diebold, senior; Konstantina Crull, junior.

Baby Beef Club

Leaders: Dave and Stacey Dibert.

High Point Award: Lily Sollenberger, senior; Ashley Sollen-berger, intermediate; Lynnae Dibert, junior.

John Hileman Memorial Award, sponsored by Jeremy Mock: Victoria Longenecker.

Perfect Attendance: Lily Sollenberger, Lynnae Dibert, Ashley Sollenberger.

All club award: Austin Frye, Anna Longenecker, Ashley Sollen-berger, Garrison Dibert, Kase Smith, Lily Sollenberger, Lynnae Dibert, Victoria Longenecker.

Judging team: Ashley Sollenber-ger, Lily Sollenberger, Garrison Dibert, Taylor Uplinger.

A rate of gain check was sponsored by CBT Bank of Williamsburg.

Special awards for the 2019 grand champions, reserve champions and third of show received their chair and a banner. The recipients were: Marlyna Borman, grand champion rabbit; Karly Diebold, reserve champion rabbit; Andrew McMonagle, grand champion dairy beef and reserve champion swine; Garrison Dibert, reserve champion dairy beef, lamb, goat and champion beef; Kade Rhule, third of show dairy beef; Lynnae Dibert, grand champion goat and third of show swine; Austin Frye, third of show goat; Lacey Lynn, grand champion lamb; Cassandra Michelone, third of show lamb; Luke Uplinger, champion swine carcass; Madison Benfer, reserve swine carcass; Hunter Stultz, grand champion swine; Kayla Dodson, reserve champion beef; Alexi McMonagle, third of show beef .

Anyone interested in joining these 4-H clubs and wants to know more details of each club, contact the Penn State Extension Office at 940-5989.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)