×

Altoona native sets book signing events

Altoona native, Grace Topping, who still has family in the area, will be coming to Altoona Sept. 5 through 7 to promote her recently published book, “Staging is Murder.”

She will be at the Hollidaysburg Area Public Library at 2 p.m. on Sept. 5 and she will be doing a book signing at Barnes and Noble at 1 p.m. on Sept. 7.

The book is a cozy mystery, one in the tradition of Agatha Christie and “Murder She Wrote,” according to Topping.

In this cozy book, “Laura Bishop just nabbed her first decorating commission-staging for sale a 19th century mansion that hasn’t been updated for decades. But when a body falls from a laundry chute and lands at Laura’s feet, removing flowered wallpaper becomes the least of her duties. To clear her young assistant of the murder and save her fledgling business, Laura’s determined to find the killer. Turns out it’s not as easy as renovating a manor home, especially with two handsome men complicating her mission.”

Topping is a former technical writer and IT project manager. But now she’s turned to writing fiction and is creating murder mysteries. She’s using her experience helping friends stage their homes as inspiration for her Laura Bishop mystery series. Topping is the current vice president of the Chesapeake Chapter of Sisters in Crime, and a member of the SINC Guppies and Mystery Writers of America. She lives with her husband in Northern Virginia.

COMMENTS