Younger Hasson lands coaching post in Philly

Bishop Guilfoyle Catholic High School product Jason Hasson was recently named the new head boys basketball coach at West Catholic Prep in Philadelphia.

Hasson is the son of one-time Altoona and Bishop Guilfoyle boys basketball coach Paul Hasson.

A graduate of St. Vincent’s College who also has a masters degree in teaching, the 34-year-old Hasson spent the past five seasons coaching Pope John XXIII High School in Sparta, N.J., where his teams went 108-37 with one state championship at the Class A level. Prior to that, he was an assistant coach at St. Anthony’s (N.J.) under legendary coach Bob Hurley, Sr.

Hasson replaces Jazz Williams, whose team went 6-17 last year.

CPL stars announced

Altoona turned in one of its best seasons on the softball diamond in the history of its program this year, and that was reflected when the Central Penn League released its all-star teams on Monday.

Altoona placed two players on the all-CPL squad: shortstop Andrea Parrish and pitcher Alexa Young.

Hollidaysburg shortstop Mikayla Focht also made the softball first team.

Altoona outfielder Elliot Mast was the only player from the Altoona Mirror coverage area to make all-CPL in baseball.


Catcher-Michael Beimel (St. Marys). Infield-Jeffrey Wehler (St. Marys), John Matthews (Punxsutawney), Ethen Stryker (Williamsport), Nick LeBrasca (DuBois).

Outfield-Braxton Giavedoni (Punxsutawney), Elliott Walker (Williamsport), Elliot Mast (Altoona). Utility-Lucas Burkett (Punxsutawney). Pitcher-John Matthews (Punxsutawney), Evan Steele (Williamsport).

Coach of the year-Ryan Miller (Williamsport).


Catcher-Kaitlyn Beers (DuBois). Infield-Andrea Parrish (Altoona), Kylee Lingenfelter (Punxsutawney), Mikayla Focht (Hollidaysburg), Chloe Jennings (Williamsport).

Outfield-Grace Aikens (Punxsutawney), Laura Fatula (DuBois), McKenzie Tebbs (Williamsport). Utility-Jackie Vizza (DuBois). Pitcher-Kyle Lingenfelter (Punxsutawney), Alexa Young (Altoona).

Coach of the year-Quint Bower.

Everett, B-A lead way

The Inter-County Conference track and field all-stars for 2016 were announced with Everett and Bellwood-Antis placing six athletes on the boys and girls teams.

The Everett boys were represented Kevin Knox, Tanner Sipes, Brice Weaver, Wesley Snyder, Eli Bramley and Nathaniel Maxwell, while the Bellwood-Antis girls were represented by Marissa Panasiti, Alexis Gerwert, Raegan Plowman, Stephanie Miller, Riley D’Angelo and Elizabeth Whaley.

The Everett girls had Kristin Mills, Ashley Kovel, Erica Weaver and Stephanie Ketterman. Northern Bedford’s Whitley Furry and Sadie McConnell made the team, as did Juniata Valley’s Taylor Leidy and Tussey Mountain’s Ivie Morningstar.

On the boys side, making the team were Juniata Valley’s Conner Shook, Northern Bedford’s Gavin Gilbert and Tussey Mountain’s Logan Vincent.


EVERETT: Kevin Knox (400 run, 400 relay), Tanner Sipes (300 hurdles, 400 relay, 1600 relay), Brice Weaver (400 relay, 1600 relay), Wesley Snyder (400 relay), Eli Bramley (400 relay), Nathaniel Maxwell (1600 relay).

JUNIATA VALLEY: Conner Shook (high jump).

MCCONNELLSBURG: Chance Hawbaker (100, 200 dash), Josh Booth (100 hurdles), Conner Johnson (shot put)

MOUNT UNION: D.J. Bookwalter (shot put)

NORTHERN BEDFORD: Gavin Gilbert (triple jump)

SOUTHERN FULTON: Chase Varner (800 run), Gavin Wills (pole vault), Tim Wright (javelin)

SOUTHERN HUNTINGDON: Andrew Stanley (1600, 3200, 3200 relay), Michael Patton (300 hurdles), Ezra Balles (3200 relay), Chad Herman (3200 relay), Michael Morgan (3200 relay).

TUSSEY MOUNTAIN: Logan Vincent (discus)

WEST BRANCH: Austin Krise (long jump)


BELLWOOD-ANTIS: Marissa Panasiti (400), Alexis Gerwert (pole vault), Raegan Plowman (3200 relay), Stephanie Mills (3200 relay), Riley D’Angelo (3200 relay), Elizabeth Worley (3200 relay).

EVERETT: Kristin Mills (400 relay), Ashley Koval (400 relay), Erica Weaver (400 relay), Stephanie Ketterman (400 relay).

FANNETT-METAL: Elizabeth Peppernick (shot put)

JUNIATA VALLEY: Taylor Leidy (200)


MOUNT UNION: Tawilia Clayborn (long jump), Kendra Worthy (high jump)

NORTHERN BEDFORD: Whitley Furry (800, 1600), Sadie McConnell (triple jump)

SOUTHERN FULTON: Emily Bradshaw (3200), Celina Merchant (100, 300 hurdles, 1600 relay), Sarah Wright (javelin), Mandy Dudich (1600 relay), Drew Gordan (1600 relay), Shaelyn Wawro (1600 relay)

SOUTHERN HUNTINGDON: Abbie Rose (pole vault), Olivia Barney (discus)

TUSSEY MOUNTAIN: Ivie Morningstar (100)

Four Colts picked

John Paronish, Desmend Phillips, Chris Rippin and Mike Sclesky represented Northern Cambria on the all-Heritage Conference boys track and field team, that was released earlier this week.

Northern Cambria’s Samantha Rocco and Kate Yahner were all-conference in girls track and field, while the Colts’ D.J. Olenchick was honored in baseball and the Lady Colts’ Ashlee Parrish was recognized in softball.

The conference has a set number of spots for each school on its all-conference lists depending on where they finished in the standings and allows the schools to set their own criteria for selection. Qualifiers for the PIAA track and field meet make the all-conference team automatically.


Ronnie Button (Purchase Line), Erik Hicks (Marion Center), Steve Novak (Homer-Center), Zack Olechovski (Blairsville), D.J. Olenchick (Northern Cambria), Jake Schott (Ligonier Valley), Beau Sheriff (United), Clayton Stupic (Penns Manor), Dakota Sunday (Blairsville), Tanner Yard (Saltsburg).


Nicole Bendis (Blairsville), Catou Cmar (Ligonier Valley), Elizabeth Ginter (Homer-Center), Alaina Laverick (Penns Manor), Ashlee Parrish (Northern Cambria), Lexie Petrof (Ligonier Valley), Laken Ryan (Marion Center), Mikhala Stover (Purchase Line), Kylee Surike (United).


Avery Amone (Ligonier Valley), Josh Beacker (Homer-Center), Zack Beitel (Ligonier Valley), Skylar Bennett (United), Alex Boring (Purchase Line), Ryan Butz (Purchase Line), John Capitosti (Homer-Center), Sam Cunkleman (Homer-Center), Jackson Daugherty (Ligonier Valley), Nathan Dumm (Penns Manor), Zachery Edwards (Marion Center), Josh Fitz (Ligonier Valley), John Ireland (Homer-Center), Micah Kurka (Purchase Line), Alex Marsh (Ligonier Valley), Gerald Moore (Saltsburg), Nathan Moore (Purchase Line), John Paronish (Northern Cambria), Desmend Phillips (Northern Cambria), Cody Pytash (Penns Manor), Chris Rippin (Northern Cambria), Billy Rupert (Ligonier Valley), Jerrik Rydbom (Saltsburg), Mike Sclesky (Northern Cambria), Sam Stanford (Purchase Line), Joey Tomosky (Ligonier Valley), Logan White (Purchase Line), David Wiles (Marion Center), Ben Wolford (Homer-Center), Zach Zelensky (Homer-Center).


Ariah Alabran (Marion Center), Emma Arblaster (United), Payton Balogh (Purchase Line), Jillian Barger (Saltsburg), Jenna Beital (Saltsburg), Hanna Beer (Marion Center), Madison Betts (Marion Center), Michaela Bracken (United), Hannah Brown (United), Aleisha Clayton (Saltsburg), Bailey Cribbs (Marion Center), Brittany Finger (Ligonier Valley), Rachel Horrell (Ligonier Valley), Iailyah Hudson (Saltsburg), Gwyn Keith (Penns Manor), Mackenzie Lucas (Marion Center), Ryleigh Ludwig (United), Olivia Miller (Ligonier Valley), Alexis Newhouse (Homer-Center), Aubree Newhouse (Homer-Center), Sara Piersigilli (Marion Center), Kate Polenik (Penns Manor), Emily Risinger (Marion Center), Samantha Rocco (Northern Cambria), Shelbi Shearer (Ligonier Valley), Daeva Simmons (United), Michaela Simpson (Saltsburg), Mariah Sinan (Marion Center), Madison Vincent (Marion Center), Taya Whitfield (Marion Center), Kate Yahner (Northern Cambria).