Three Nittany Lions make it to watch lists

From Mirror, wire reports

UNIVERSITY PARK — A trio of Penn State football players had their names added to preseason watch lists Tuesday.

The group includes Amani Oruwariye for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Ryan Bates and Connor McGovern among the nominees for the Outland Trophy.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is given yearly to the National Defensive Player of the Year. Penn State has never won a Nagurski Trophy, but has had five finalists, most recently Carl Nassib in 2015.

The Outland Trophy is given to the nation’s top interior lineman (offensive or defensive).

Penn State defensive tackle Mike Reid won the Outland Trophy in 1969 and All-America defensive tackle Devon Still was the most recent Nittany Lion finalist, back during the 2011 season.


n Former UCLA coach Jim Mora is joining ESPN as a college football analyst, filling the role Chip Kelly held last season at the network before replacing Mora as coach of the Bruins.

ESPN announced Tuesday that it added Mora and re-signed college football analyst Joey Galloway to a multiyear deal.

Mora coached at UCLA from 2012-17. He was fired after 11 games last season. He worked for the NFL Network during the lead-up this year’s draft. For ESPN, he will be part of ESPN2’s Saturday studio show, hosted by Chris Cotter.

Kelly left ESPN to become UCLA’s new coach.

n Boston College running back AJ Dillon is the Atlantic Coast Conference preseason player of the year.

In voting results released Tuesday, Dillon received 45 of 148 votes from media members at last week’s media days to edge Clemson defensive tackle Christian Wilkins, who had 42.

Dillon rushed for 1,589 yards last season, the second-most by any freshman in ACC history. He was joined by Florida State’s Cam Akers in the backfield of the preseason all-conference team.