Television spots announced for Nittany Lions men’s basketball

Penn State

UNIVERSITY PARK — For the 11th straight year, every Big Ten Conference regular-season and tournament game will be nationally broadcast and will appear on one of the networks of the league’s four media partners: the Big Ten Network (BTN), CBS Sports, ESPN and FOX Sports.

Sixteen of Penn State’s conference games will be on BTN, with two scheduled for ESPN2 and FS1.

Penn State opens Big Ten Conference play at Iowa on Saturday, Dec. 2 with a 5 p.m. tipoff on BTN. ESPN2 will have the coverage of the Nittany Lions when they play host to Wisconsin in the Bryce Jordan Center on Monday, Dec. 4. Tipoff for the conference home opener is 7 p.m.

The Big Ten schedule resumes after the first of the new year with the Nittany Lions traveling to Maryland for a Tuesday, Jan. 2 tilt on BTN at 7 p.m. Both of the Penn State-Northwestern meetings will take place in January with the Wildcats making the trip to the BJC for a Friday, Jan. 5 game at 8 p.m. on FS1. On Saturday, Jan. 20, the teams meet at Allstate Arena in Rosemont, Ill., for a 2 p.m. contest available on BTN.

After the Nittany Lions’ 7 p.m. game at Indiana on Tuesday, Jan. 9 (BTN), they return home for two games in the BJC on Friday, Jan. 12 vs. Nebraska and Monday, Jan. 15 vs. Minnesota. Both games are set for 7 p.m. start times and will be broadcast on BTN. Penn State takes off again for a Thursday, Jan. 25 game at Ohio State (BTN) at 8 p.m.

Penn State hosts Rutgers at 4 p.m. in the BJC in the last home game of January on Saturday, Jan. 25. The fifth, and final, road trip in the month brings Coach Patrick Chambers and the Nittany Lions to Michigan State on Wednesday, Jan. 31. The only meeting between these two teams in the regular season will be broadcast on BTN with a 6:30 p.m. start time.

Four home games in February feature contests against Iowa, Maryland, Ohio State and Michigan. Back-to-back home games against Iowa on Saturday, Feb. 3 and Maryland, Wednesday, Feb. 7 open the month at the BJC. The Iowa game will tip off at either 6 p.m. or 8 p.m. on BTN, with the time to be determined at a later date. The Nittany Lions and Terps face off at 6:30 p.m. on BTN in the mid-week contest.

The Nittany Lions will host Ohio State on Thursday, Feb. 15 for an 8 p.m. affair in the BJC on BTN. Penn State returns home against the Buckeyes following the first of its three Sunday games, on Feb. 11 game at Illinois (BTN) at 7 p.m. Penn State plays at Purdue on BTN in its second Big Ten Sunday night game on Feb. 18 at 8 p.m. in Mackey Arena.

Michigan travels to University Park for the Nittany Lions’ final regular season game in the BJC on Wednesday, Feb. 21 (BTN) with a 7 p.m. start time. Penn State closes the Big Ten regular season at Nebraska on Sunday, Feb. 25 with a 5:15 p.m. game (BTN).

Penn State opens the 2017-18 season with Campbell on Friday, Nov. 10 with a 4 p.m. start. The Sunday, Nov. 12 game versus Fairleigh Dickinson is at 5 p.m. (BTN+), a 7 p.m. game vs. Montana on BTN as part of the University Park Regional of the Legends Classic on Wednesday, Nov. 15 and a 7 p.m. Friday, November 17 game with Columbia (BTN+).

On Friday, Nov. 24, the day after Thanksgiving, Nittany Lion fans can add a 3 p.m. game versus Oral Roberts (BTN+) in the BJC to their weekend schedule. Times and broadcast partners for the Big Ten/ACC Challenge, including Penn State’s Wednesday, Nov. 29 game at N.C. State, will be announced at a later date.

As part of the Legends Classic games at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y., Penn State’s game versus Pitt on Monday, Nov. 20, the second game of the doubleheader, will be available on ESPN3. The Legends Classic championship game will be broadcast on ESPN2 with the consolation game on ESPNU on Tuesday, Nov. 21.

The Nittany Lions’ December nonconference slate includes home games at 4 p.m. on Saturday, Dec. 9 vs. George Washington, (BTN), a Tuesday, Dec. 19 contest vs. Binghamton with a 7 p.m. tipoff (BTN+) and 7 p.m. game on Friday, Dec. 22 vs. Rider (BTN). Penn State hosts Coppin State in the final game of 2017 on Saturday, Dec. 30 at 2 p.m. (BTN+)

COMMENTS