PSU set to play Orange

UNIVERSITY PARK – The three-time defending Big Ten champion Penn State Lady Lions will travel to Syracuse for the eighth annual ACC/Big Ten Challenge on Thursday, Dec. 4, it was announced by the Big Ten and ACC.

This is the first year that the Challenge will feature 14 matchups.

The Lady Lions are 16-2 all-time against the Orange, including a 7-2 mark in games played in Syracuse. The last time the squads squared off, Syracuse claimed a 72-53 win in the Carrier Dome on Dec. 6, 2007. Prior to the 2007 matchup, Penn State had won six straight over the Orange.

Penn State is 2-5 in Big Ten/ACC Challenge games, including a victory over Duke in the inaugural Challenge and a record-setting 103-84 win over nationally-ranked North Carolina in 2011. Game times, as well as television and broadband coverage, will be announced at a later date.

This is the second piece of the Lady Lions’ 2014-15 schedule as it was previously announced that Penn State will participate in the Preseason WNIT. The bracket for the WNIT will be announced in June.

The Lady Lions claimed their third-straight Big Ten regular-season title with a 24-8 overall record and 13-3 mark in conference play. It is the first time in school history that the Lady Lions won three consecutive regular-season crowns (Big Ten or Atlantic 10). Penn State has made four consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances and reached the Sweet Sixteen last year after wins over Wichita State and Florida.

After the graduation of a very accomplished senior class, senior forward Tori Waldner (Milton, Ga.) is the top returnee for Penn State. She started every game as a junior and averaged 4.8 points and 5.6 rebounds per game. She also rejected 39 shots a year ago to bring her career total to 89, which is tied for 11th on PSU’s career list.

Lions honored

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Penn State men’s hockey forward David Glen and women’s golf standout Christina Vosters were among 24 honorees named Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2013-14 academic year, the conference office announced.

The 24 honorees were chosen from a group of more than 300 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.