Dewease dominates at Williams Grove track

Area Auto Racing

MECHANICSBURG — Lance Dewease assailed the field on Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway to record the World of Outlaws tuneup event for sprint cars that was worth $4,180 to win. It was the first race at the track since late March, thanks to continuous rainouts.

The 358 sprints made their season debut at the track on Friday night and Glenndon Forsythe picked up a victory worth $1,500.

A rain delay of more than an hour hampered the event, but it also made for scorching speeds as the night wore on.


BEDFORD — Although it rained for the eighth consecutive Friday in Bedford, this time it cleared off in time for the Bedford Speedway to get the first Friday program of the 2019 season completed.

Chad Layton and Josh Weller were the big winners in the double URC events, one which was a rain makeup event from 2018.

Matt Parks went pole-to-pole to score his first Bedford limited win in several years, while Nick Bechtel took the pure stock event and Jonathan Taylor rallied late to capture the E-mod 20 lapper.

Port Royal

PORT ROYAL — They say the first one is the sweetest and Jeff Miller held off a hard-charging Lucas Wolfe and Mother Nature to pick up his first career Weikert’s Livestock 410 sprint car victory in his rookie season Saturday night.

Gene Knaub of Dover picked up his second career super late model victory at Port Royal Speedway over Dylan Yoder in the River Valley Builders super late model feature.

Ken Duke picked up his second Penns Valley Meat Market PASS IMCA 305 sprint car victory of the season over Jonathon Jones in the 20 lap feature event.


SELINSGROVE SPEEDWAY: Jason Shultz of Carlisle won the 25-lap 360 sprint car feature from the 16th starting spot at Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday night. The victory was Shultz’s second of the season and 20th career at the Snyder County half-mile oval.

Brett Schadel of Herndon was victorious in the 25-lap late model race. It was Schadel’s third career win in a super late model at the speedway. Both Shultz and Schadel received the top prize of $2,000 for their victories.

Brandon Moser of Middleburg won the 15-lap pro stock race, while Jake Jones of Hunlock Creek took the 12-lap roadrunner nightcap.

HUMMINGBIRD SPEEDWAY: A bright, sunny sky welcomed fans from all over the area back to Hummingbird Speedway for the second night of racing. The night also marked the first of four dates that the Young Gun Jr. sprint series was part of the program.

11-year-old Sam Darby picked up the win in the open class while 7-year-old Randy White claimed victory in the stock class.

Other feature winners on the night included: Brandon Connor of DuBois in the Cypress Clock & Gift Shop street stocks, Doug Surra of Kersey in the Swanson Heavy Duty Truck Repair & Service semi-late models, Daniel Clark of DuBois in the Lockwood Processing four-cylinders, Dennis Harrison Jr. of Allegany, NY in the Sunny 106.5 FM pure stocks, and Kyle Knapp of Brookville in the BWP Bats super late models.

LINCOLN SPEEDWAY: For the second week in a row Lincoln Speedway officials made the decision to push the start time up two hours to try and beat Mother Nature.

Luckily, with four features to run, the move worked this Saturday with the rain beginning to fall as Robbie Kendall pulled his car into victory lane after the fourth feature.

Going through the Lincoln record books, one would need to go back to 2014 to find a year it took Brian Montieth longer to find victory lane.

In 2014, Montieth waited until May 31 to earn his first win of the season. Montieth earned his first victory of 2019 on Saturday night during the $4,000 to win World of Outlaws tuneup.

Kendall started on the pole of Saturday night’s make-up feature from last week’s rain-shortened event.

Tyler Ross didn’t have an easy path to victory on Saturday night, starting eighth in the 20-lap main event.

With 18 midgets signed into the pits at the start of the night, the decision was made to run a feature only program. The field was timed during warmups with the top six inverted for the feature line-up.

Steve Buckwalter held onto the lead by a car length for the win.