Winner goes ‘Hollywood’ at Jennerstown Speedway

By Dottie Bird

For the Mirror

Jennerstown — After a thrilling, three-car battle for the win, Mike “Hollywood” Hemminger drove to his second victory of the year in the Martella’s Pharmacies RUSH Late Model division of racing, on TMT Transportation/Triad Metals Night at Jennerstown Speedway Complex.

Championship standings leader Anthony Aiello was victorious again in the Stoystown Auto Wreckers RUSH Modified division, and Mel Wilt earned his second win of the season in the J&J Truck Equipment RUSH Street Stocks. A pair of first time winners also celebrated in victory lane, as Dan Jackson and Aaron Karasack placed their names in the Jennerstown history books. Brent Nelson swept both races for nationally touring Super Cup Stock Car Series.


WILLIAMS GROVE SPEEDWAY: Fred-die Rahmer drove by Kyle Larson in lapped traffic and on to win the first 20-lap main event Friday night as part of the Jack Gunn Memorial sanctioned by the All-Star Circuit of Champions. at the Williams Grove Speedway. Jim Siegel inherited the lead when Chad Trout had trouble in lapped traffic and held off Tony Stewart to win $4,000 in the second main event. The All-Stars have never beaten the Williams Grove regulars in a sanctioned race pushing their record to 35-0. Rahmer’s second career All-Star win was worth $4,000. It was his second Grove win of the season.

PORT ROYAL SPEEDWAY: The Port Royal Speedway played host to Open Wheel Madness II with rookie Tyler Reeser scoring his first-ever 410 sprint car win over Steve Buckwalter. Reeser took $3,600 for the victory and became the 191st sprint car winner in the history of the track. In the 305 sprint-car main, John Scarborough came out on top of a thrilling event that saw him lose the lead to Darren Miller and then reclaim the spot late to hold off Miller and Kyle Smith in a wild three-car chase to the checkers. Mark Bitner claimed the USAC East Sprint Car Series main event to close the series inaugural season while Steve Drevicki ended up second in the race while claiming the inaugural series championship title.

HUMMINGBIRD SPEEDWAY: After suffering consecutive rainouts, the action returned to Hummingbird Speedway where fans were treated to a duo of special events, with Ina’s Memorial Street Stock Shootout and the Psycho Industries Semi-Late Spectacular. Andrew Gordon claimed the big prize in the street stock shootout, while Nick Erskine took home the big check in the semi-lates. Other winners included Paul Kot in the BWP Bat Late Models, Mike Anderson in the Sunny106 Pure Stocks, and John Campisano in the Aaron’s 4-Cylinders.

Dog Hollow SPEEDWAY: The final points night of the season saw four of the 2018 champions come home with the checkered flag at the Dog Hollow Speedway. There were 113 cars filling the pits with Dave Blazavich winning his second straight in the Townsend Gas & Oil Super Lates for his third straight points championship. In the 358 Semi-Lates, Robert Cossell pulled off his second win in taking the crown while Joe Moyer won the RUSH Crate Late Models for the first time this season whle also taking the championship. Levi Spinneweber won his third of the season to wrap his championship season. Other winners were Brad Beatty (DM Craig Fabrication & Welding Service 4-Cylinders, Lance Marshall in the rookie 4C and Brad Benton getting his second straight in the AMSOIL Pure Stocks. The E-Mods made their third appearance and it was Josh Ferry in victory lane.

Lincoln SPEEDWAY: Carson Macedo upheld the pride of the traveling All-Star Circuit of Champion sprinters by picking up his third All-Star win of the year, and his first-ever at the Lincoln Speedway in the 30-lap $5,000-to-win event. Also on hand to take on the PA Posse were former 3-time NASCAR Champion Tony Stewart (2002, 2005, 2011), and current NASCAR and sprint-car sensation Kyle Larson, as well as Dave Blaney, a former World of Outlaw Champion (1995) and NASCAR racer. Also competing was Tim Shaffer, who is former All-Star champion (2009-2012) and Knoxville Nationals winner (2010).

BAPS MOTOR SPEEDWAY: NASCAR legend Tony Stewart helped his Arctic Cat All-Star Circuit of Champions close out their four-race trek through Pennsylvania by earning a victory at BAPS Motor Speedway this past weekend. For Stewart, the $5,000 victory was his first with the traveling All-Stars since winning at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway over one year ago, bumping his career total to three during All-Star competition.

CLINTON COUNTY SPEEDWAY:The super late models were flying on the wide raceway this past weekend as Coleby Frye scored the super late model main at the Clinton County Motor Speedway. Sean McAndrew came out on top of the 270 micro-sprints and A.Y. Schilling returned to the winners circle during pro-stock action. All three started on the pole in their respective races.

Selinsgrove SPEEDWAY: Jason Shultz powered to his third win of the season in the 25-lap 360 sprint car main event at the Selinsgrove Speedway. The $2,000 victory was Shultz’s 18th career at Selinsgrove in 358-360 sprint car competition at the wheel of the Horstcraft Millworks No. 29. In other action, Davie Franek clinched his second straight Mach 1 Chassis 360 sprint car track championship. In the super late model 25-lap feature, Andy Haus stormed to his first career win worth $2,200, and in doing so, also won the Moon Shine Camo-Route 35 Super Late Model Challenge Series by just four points. Bryan Bernheisel wrapped up his first career super late model track championship. Brandon Moser drove to his second win of the year in the 15-lap pro stock feature, while Kyle Bachman won his second career pro stock track title. In the roadrunner 12-lap race, Ryan Zook collected $650 for his fifth win of the year. Keith Bissinger recorded his sixth track championship in the division.

Local tracks and teams are encouraged to email news and results to