Paden shoots 166 to capture Ladies Club Championship

ORE HILL — In gross division play, Gwen Paden finished with a 166 recently to win the Ladies Club Championship at IronMasters Country Club.

Patti Dodson took second at 183. Connie Bolger and Deb Showalter tied for first (150) in net division play.

In men’s club championship play, Wes Elder won with a 289. Spencer Hinish was second (291), followed by Matt Dillon (295), Wally Clapper (297) and Ken Love (302).

Flight winners included Erick Kozak (145), Keith McGraw (163), Stan Snyder (152) and Terry Weyandt (212).

Scotch Valley

HOLLIDAYSBURG — In the AIYBL Golf Outing at the Scotch Valley Country Club, the team of Chuck Meyers, Doug Meyers, Mark Conrdrin and Nick Gates took home first-place honors.

The team of Tim McCarthy, Chris Kirwin, Von Villano, and Craig Kiesewetter finished second.


CRESSON — The team of Joe Hall, Hop Burgoon and Dr. Rob Maruca won the Summer Blast 3-man scramble last Saturday and Sunday with a score of 60-60-120.

The team of Doug Fogel, Ben Pratt and John Rozansky finished second with a 61-64-125.

In the four-player scramble Charlene’s School of Dance Benefit Golf Outing, the team of Justin Irvin, Matt Taylor, Paul Pentz and Ben Pratt won first place, while the team of Bob Biter, Randy Beers, Pat Shell and P.J. Shell finished second.

Skill prize winners included: Paul Pentz, P.J. Shell and Pat Shell, for closest-to-the tee shots on holes four, eight and 12, respectively, and Jeff Price for longest putt on hole no. 17.

Sue Wilson, with 36 points, led individual player point totals after Aug. 27 for Ladies League Night. Bonnie Deem and Charlotte McConn were tied for second place with 32 points apiece.

Closest to the tee shots included: July 23–Christine Sears (fourth hole) and Diane Dunmyer (eighth hole); July 30–Maddie Krug (eighth hole); Aug. 6–Bonnie Deem (fourth hole) and Jamie Dziabo (eighth hole); Aug. 20–Sandy Smith (fourth hole); Mag Weiland (eighth hole); Aug. 27–Jamie Dziabo (fourth hole); Lydia Kachur (eighth hole).

Sylvan Hills

HOLLIDAYSBURG — Jim Brown, Brian Walters and Marty Long took first place in the Aug. 26 scramble, while Gary Zimmerman, Dave McCoy and Carol Young were second at the Sylvan Hills Golf Club.

Joe Aungst, Jr. recently defeated Ron Bowser to win the overall club championship.

In other action, Bernie Mayancsik won the Ladies Golf Association Club Championship. Brenda Flick as second, followed by Dayonne Beck. The first flight winner was Lynn Durbin while Marian Monios won the second flight.

Michael Clawson and Ken Stockley were the low gross winners (40) in the Sylvan Hills Golf Club Thursday Night competition. George Lang and Dan Powers were the low net winners (32).

Closest to the pin honors went to Jim Seiler (No. 2) and Bucky Miller (No. 4).

Flight winners were Harry Felty-Curt Melton (B flight), Lew Cessna-Barry Criste (C flight), Matt Neugebauer-Chuck Shields (D flight).


HUNTINGDON — In the Big Orange Golf event, the team of Bill Frazier and Ed Gargula and the team of Gerry Huggler and Bob Lamey both went 2-1 for a .666 winning percentage.

Phil Thompson carded the low gross score with a 35, while Alan Herbster had the low net score with a 30.