Former champs claim victories

Area Auto Racing

JENNERSTOWN — A pair of former champions were victorious as Jennerstown Speedway Complex’s top division of racing, the Martella’s Pharmacies RUSH late models competed in “double features” on Saturday.

Defending track champion, Jeremiah Kuntz won the make-up event, rained out from May 26th, and five-time champion Barry Awtey won the scheduled event.

Anthony Aiello started his campaign for “rookie of the year” with a win in the first feature race of 2018 in the Stoystown Auto Wreckers RUSH modifieds.

Mel Wilt parked in victory lane for the first time in over ten years, following the J&J Truck Equipment RUSH street stock race, while Dale Kimberly was the winner in the Farmers Union Co-Op charger division.

Andrew Pluta took the checkered flag in the Somerset Trust Company Fast ‘n Furious four-cylinder division.


REYNOLDSVILLE — A warm, summer-like evening welcomed fans from all over the area, even Ohio, to the third night of racing action at Hummingbird Speedway.

The night saw eight different feature winners including five from the regular racing program and three from the May 26th make-up features.

The winners of the make-up features included: Chris Farrell of Clearfield in the BWP Bats late models, Brandon Connor of DuBois in the Cypress Clock & Gift Shop street stocks, and Eric Luzier of Clearfield in the Aaron’s of DuBois front-wheel drive four-cylinders.

The winners of the regular racing program included: Paul Kot of Brockway in the BWP Bats late models, Josh Fields of Brockport in the Sunny 106.5 FM pure stocks, Zach Myers of Knox in the Swanson Heavy Duty Truck Repair semi-late models, Bruce Hartzfeld of Stump Creek in the Cypress Clock & Gift Shop street stocks, and Josh Frantz of Reynoldsville in the Aaron’s of DuBois front-wheel drive four-cylinders.


SELINSGROVE — Mark Smith of Sunbury outraced a strong field of 360 sprint cars to claim his fourth out of five Kramer Cups at Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday night in the 30-lap tribute race in memory of former champion and Hall of Fame driver Kramer Williamson.

The $2,573 victory was Smith’s first of the year and 23rd career in 358-360 sprint car competition at the wheel of the Mach 1 Chassis M1.

Bryan Bernheisel of Lebanon won the May 5 makeup 20-lap limited late model feature, while George Dixon Jr. of Hesston took the checkers in the regularly scheduled feature.

Shaun Lawton of Bloomsburg scored his first win of the season after an exciting side-by-side race with Kyle Bachman of Selinsgrove in the 15-lap pro stock race.

Bob Bussey of Northumberland also notched his first win of the year by inches in a three-wide finish in the 12-lap roadrunner feature.


PORT ROYAL: Trey Starks of Puyallup, Washington, struck of his first career Port Royal Speedway sprint car win on Saturday night, out-dueling Aaron Reutzel and Greg Hodnett for the victory, worth $3,600.

In the 30-lap Tri-Track late model challenge event for super late models, Jeff Rine held off the advances of Dylan Yoder to pick up his third win of the season at the track, worth $3,000.

And the 15-lap xtreme stock main was taken by Kevin Imes to close out the night.

DOG HOLLOW: Mahaffey’s Jon Lee scored wins in the Townsend Gas & Oil super late models and the 358 semi-lates Saturday night.

Braeden Dillinger got the monkey off his back in winning the RUSH Crate lates, while South Fork’s Jack Theys took the DM Craig Fabrication & Welding Services four-cylinders.

Levi Spinneweber (Super 6 late models) and Duke Davidson (AMSOIL pure stocks) became the first two drivers to score repeat wins.