Awtey wins on evening honoring dad

Area Auto Racing

JENNERSTOWN — Each year, the Jennerstown Speedway Complex honors one of the greatest drivers and car builders in history, the late Bill Awtey, with a racing event in his honor.

On Saturday, Mountain Ridge ATV Park presented the annual “Bill Awtey Night,” and Bill’s son, Barry Awtey, was victorious in the Martella’s Pharmacies late model division.

Other winners were Chris Brink (Stoystown Auto Wreckers modifieds), Lauren Bulter (J&J Truck Equipment street stocks), Steve Long (Farmers Union Co-Op chargers), and David Campbell (Somerset Trust Company Fast ‘n’ Furious four-cylinders).

Port Royal

PORT ROYAL — Brock Zearfoss of Jonestown struck for his second Port Royal Speedway 410 sprint car win of the year on Saturday night to claim $3,200.

In the 25-lap super late model main, Danville’s Jeff Rine raced to his fourth win of the year — pushing himself up the all-time win list to a total of 17 at the oval.

And in the 305 sprint main, Jeff Miller of Huntingdon scored for the second time this season, while Kevin Imes won the xtreme stock feature.

Dog Hollow

STRONGSTOWN — Superman Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., came from the 21st starting spot to win the Fourth Annual Shawn “Sheetz” McGarvey Memorial for the Townsend Gas & Oil super late models at Dog Hollow Speedway.

Justin Wagaman made his first visit a winning one in the 20-lap DM Craig Fabrication & Welding Service four-cylinder special, while Corey Neal earned his first-ever speedway victory in the Lias Tire CARS Crate late models.

Nate Smith (358 semi-lates), Levi Spinneweber (Super 6 late models) and Amber Mills (AMSOIL pure stocks) were all repeat winners Sunday.


REYNOLDSVILLE — Fans enjoyed a night of nostalgia as Bud Garvey brought some of his friends and their vintage racing machines to Hummingbird Speedway on Saturday night.

Those in victory lane included Chris Farrell from Clearfield in the BWP Bats late models, Josh Fields from Brockport in the Sunny 106.5 FM pure stocks, Nick Erskine from Mahaffey in the Swanson Heavy Duty Truck Repair semi-late models, Sammy Swauger from Reynoldsville in the street stocks and Jim Fye from Reynoldsville in the Aaron’s of DuBois front-wheel drive four-cylinders.


SELINSGROVE: Blane Heimbach was in search of his third win when he drove by early race leader Jason Shultz on lap four of the 30-lap, $3,000-to-win the Firecracker 30 which was rescheduled for the 360 sprint cars from July 1.

Hayes Mattern certainly looked like the car to beat in the late models on Saturday night but Bryan Bernheisel used a great restart to break away from the field on his way to his second win of the season.

Saturday night had a similar feel when Tim Krape, the winner at the track last weekend, took the top spot off a restart with only five laps to go. Miller had lead every lap up until that point. With five to go Krape’s car slowed to the infield. Miller opened the lead up a little bit to give himself some breathing room over the last few laps on his way to his eighth career Selinsgrove victory in the Pro Stocks.

The night cap belonged to the Pro Stocks and they did not disappoint as Shaun Lawton was using a line no one else was around the outside of the speedway and began to close in on the race leader. Right after Lawton took the race lead the yellow flag was displayed to the field. Snook would have another shot to take the lead back on the restart. Lawton played the restart perfect and held off Snook for his third win of the season.

SUSQUEHANNA: Scott Dellinger held off several late race challenges from Russ Mitten to capture his second win of the season in the 25-lap Credit Connection Auto Sales super sportsman feature Saturday night.

Sean Merkel and Justin Weaver both recorded first career Susquehanna wins in the double Bernheisel Race Cars 358 late model features while Jasen Geesaman raced to his first win of the season in Morgan Paving/Aqua Fun Pools street stock action.

LINCOLN: Freddie Rahmer has struggled at Lincoln this year, but he had it covered in scoring his second win of the year in the 25-lap feature for 410 sprint cars in the Pigeon Hills Saturday night.

Brent Shearer raced to his first win of the year and second career Lincoln win in the 20-lap “358” sprint car feature, while Charlie Summers was the winner of the 20-lap Dizzy Dean Memorial for classic cars.