Mirror seeks nominations

The Mirror is seeking nominations for special awards to be presented at its 12th annual Athlete of the Year banquet on Monday, May 22.

Area high schools are invited to submit nominations for the Ron Rickens Sportsmanship Awards, the Dean Rossi Leadership Award and the Erin (Johnson) Kelly Award, which recognizes the area high school athlete who has overcome the most adversity.

The Rickens awards, which honor a deserving male and female athlete, are presented in memory of former local coach and referee Ron Rickens. Nominations should include supportive examples of sportsmanship, leadership, academic excellence and community service.

The Rossi award was introduced last year and named in memory of former Hollidaysburg and Huntingdon athletic director Dean Rossi, who died in 2015. Nominations should also include supportive examples of sportsmanship, leadership, academic excellence and community service.

The Johnson award is named for Erin (Johnson) Kelly, who despite being born without a left forearm scored 1,000 career points at Claysburg-Kimmel High School. She also played basketball at Penn State Altoona.

Seniors are eligible from the Mirror’s coverage area, which includes the following schools: Altoona Area, Bedford Area, Bellwood-Antis, Bishop Carroll Catholic, Bishop Guilfoyle Catholic, Blair County Christian, Cambria County Christian, Cambria Heights, Central, Central Cambria, Chestnut Ridge, Claysburg-Kimmel, Everett Area, Glendale, Great Commission, Grier, Hollidaysburg Area, Huntingdon Area, Juniata Valley, Moshannon Valley, Northern Bedford, Northern Cambria, Penn Cambria, Philipsburg-Osceola, Portage Area, Tussey Mountain, Tyrone Area and Williamsburg.

Nominations should be sent by Monday, May 1 to Mirror Managing Editor Neil Rudel at 301 Cayuga Avenue, Altoona, Pa., 16603 or emailed to nrudel@altoonamirror.com.

All-star game set

Bishop Guilfoyle’s Chris Drenning will coach guard Josh Trybus one more time and will coach against Marauder foward Andrew Irwin at the West Branch West Branch Senior All-Star Madness basketball games on Saturday in Morrisdale.

Tipoff for the girls game is 5 p.m., with the boys to follow at approximately 7.

Drenning will coach the Blue team, which also includes Moshannon Valley’s Jake Murawski, Curtis Neff and Jake Stanton, Philipsburg-Osceola’s Peyton Guelich and Glendale’s Bailey Sinclair. Irwin will play on the Red team, which also includes Bellwood-Antis’ Joey Padula and P-O’s Josiah Davis; Mo Valley’s Connor Holobinko was selected for the game but will not play because of injury.

Mo Valley’s Derrik Eckenrode will coach the Red.

Glendale’s Cierra O’Shell and Mo Valley’s Reese Harlow both will suit up for the Maroon team in the girls game.

Admission is $3 for adults and $1 for students.



BLUE — Drew Akers (Johnsonburg), C.J. Booher (Mount Union), Evan Brown (Clearfield), Peyton Guelich (Philipsburg-Osceola), Jake Murawski (Moshannon Valley) Curtis Neff (Moshannon Valley), Bailey Sinclair (Glendale), Luke Snyder (Penns Valley), Jake Stanton (Moshannon Valley), Josh Trybus (Bishop Guilfoyle). Coach–Chris Drenning (Bishop Guilfoyle).

RED — Brody Baker (Central Mountain), Josiah Davis (Philipsburg-Osceola), Tommy Hazel (Clearfield), Connor Holobinko (Moshannon Valley), Andrew Irwin (Bishop Guilfoyle), Will Myers (Clearfield), Joey Padula (Bellwood-Antis), Jake Sheldon (Johnsonburg), Nick Shearer (Saint Joseph’s), Noah Williams (West Branch). Coach–Derrik Eckenrode (Moshannon Valley).


MAROON — Reese Harlow (Moshannon Valley), Tarra Hauser (Harmony), Jess Milliron (West Branch), Cierra O’Shell (Glendale), Elizabeth Wellar (Bald Eagle Area), Nikki Wormuth (Curwensville). Coach–Jocelyn Bash (Curwensville).

TEAL — Baylee Boring (Harmony), Jena Brown (Bald Eagle Area), Julia Cingle (Bald Eagle Area), Hannah Dixon (Curwensville), Christine Limbert (Curwensville), Caylee McCaslin (Bald Eagle Area). Coach–Justin Koleno (West Branch).

Heritage honors athletes

ARMAGH — Northern Cambria’s Allison Sedlock was named to the Heritage Conference’s All-Conference girls basketball team recently.

The Colts’ Logan Yonkoske made the boys team.

Northern Cambria’s Lydia Davis also made the All-Conference team for cheerleading.


Saltsburg–Dan Shirley, Nick Porter, Frank Plowman; Ligonier Valley–Marrek Paola; Northern Cambria–Logan Yonkoske; Homer-Center–Tanny Yancy; Purchase Line–Dominque Campbell; Marion Center–Paul McClure; United–Devin Mack; West Shamokin–Ben Vicini; Blairsville–Matt Jackson.


West Shamokin–Katie Glover, Andrea Orlosky Olivia Fusaro; Penns Manor–Autumn Fennell; Saltsburg–Abbie Okopal; Purchase Line–Megan Faught; Northern Cambria–Allison Sedlock; Homer-Center–Alexis Newhouse; Marion Center–Mia Oterson; United–Hope Hixson; Blairsville–Rena Enterline; Ligonier Valley–Olivia Miller.


Marion Center–Charlie Beatty, Brad Smith, Shallen Cornetto; United–Riley Miller, Kyle Minerd; Blairsville–Gerard Moore, Noah Sleasman; Ligonier Valley–Robby Patrick, Alex Caldwell.


United–Lorynn Stiles, Allison Tomb, Amanda Michaels; Homer-Center–Morgan Nagle; Penns Manor–Samantha Fedder; Northern Cambria–Lydia Davis; Purchase Line–Payton Balogh; Blairsville–Kylie Hitchman; Ligonier Valley–Ricki Jo Yeager; Saltsburg–Courtney Battistelli; Marion Center–Tala Lute.