Johns captures Summit stroke play crown

CRESSON – Mitch Johns won the championship flight of the Summit Country Club’s Stroke Play Club Championship with a 153 last weekend, while Steve DeStefano and Zack Morgan tied for second at 156.

Tony Mignogna won the first flight with a 155, while John Lauer (157) took second. Ben Shope won the second flight on the second playoff hole over Terry Funcheon after both scored 168 in regulation.

Denny Michina captured the third flight with a 172, while Nolan Link (173) was second. Donte Perino won the fourth flight with a 174, while Bob Ruggiero (176) finished second. Denny Storm won the fifth flight on the second playoff hole over Dave Hayes after both scored 200 in regulation.

Jessica Burlingame won the championship flight of the women’s division with a 159, while Kate Conway (175) was second. Therese Perino won the first flight with a 192. Jenny Garland took second flight with a 232, while Rose Storm (243) was second. Jeanette Madey won the Senior Division with a 224.

Mignogna won the gross division on the Senior Club Championship’s 50-57 age group with a 155, while Dale Perino (172) finished second. Doug Fogel won the net division of the same group with a 150, while Bill Snyder (151) took second.

Johns won the gross division of the 58 to 64 group with a 153, while Dave States (160) and Tom Angle (161) placed second and third, respectively. Bob Ruggiero won the net division with a 140, while Ron Burgoon (142) was second, and Roger Crist (148) was third. D.R. Nagle won the gross division of the 65 and over with a 166, while Bob Maher won the net with a 143.

Dale Perino, Hop Burgoon, Ron Burgoon and Rick Marshall took first place in the Cresson Lions Club Benefit Golf Outing with a 52. Keith Saleme, Bernie Jubeck, Dan Hileman and Keith Saleme Sr. (53) were second, while Todd Burkett, Larry Audley, Will Wilkinson and Bill Wilkinson (55) finished third.

Skill prize winners were Hileman (longest drive on 3), Ian Dunmyer (closest tee shot on 4), Orville Shehan (closest tee shot on 8), Marshall (closest tee shot on 12), Charlie Horten (closest tee shot on 15) and Adam Stephan (longest putt on 18).

Park Hills

Chris Perry carded a 138 to take the gross division of the Park Hills Men’s Club Championship by five strokes over Todd Homan (143). Brett Miller (155) took third.

Ron Hinish won the net division with a 135, while Jordan Kirsch (140) was second, and Keith Danner (143) was third. Stephanie Kirsch won the gross division of the Women’s Club Championship.

John Bottenfield, Tom Moore and Ron Hutchison took first place in the senior event, while Dick Barefoot, Bert Hobbs, Don McKnight and Joe Saclaro place second.

Sinking Valley

TYRONE – Leonard DelBaggio carded a 65 to become the overall champion of the Senior Club Championship at Sinking Valley.

Greg Ferguson carded a 69 to take the low gross of the 50-59 age group, while Don Filby (70) was second, and Jim Roseberry (71) was third. Steve Monahan scored a 65 for the low net of the same age group, while Dick Stever (69) was second, and Norm Heidler (70) was third.

John Graham had the low gross in the 60-69 group with a 71, while Jeff Chestney (72) was second, and Mike Maier (75) was third. Bill Davis had the low net in the same group with a 67, while Harry Miller (70) was second, and John Bernhart (73) was third.

Mike Robuck carded a 79 to take the low gross in the 70+ age group, while Andy Kushner (83) was second. Bob Kelly had the low net in the same group with a 69, while Bob Forshey (71) was second.

Scotch Valley

HOLLIDAYSBURG – David DeGol Jr. and Brian Hall took first place in the Tiger Flight of the Scotch Valley Men’s League with 50 points, while Dennis DeGol and Mike Macionsky (47) finished second.

Marc McKillop and Matt Wilkinson won the Snead Flight with 51 points, while Bob Bilger and Dan Sheaffer (49) took second. David DeGol and Marty Finklestine won the Palmer Flight with 52 points, while Bruno and Nick DeGol (47) took second.

Chris Kirwin and Vance Villano won the Trevino Flight with 63 points, while Matt McKillop and Brian Irwin (44) finished second. Joe Destadio and Tom Lepore won the Daly Flight with 60 points, while Denny Doll and David Halpern (50) placed second, and Aaron Ritchey and Bruce Baldwin (43) took third.

Aaron Hartley, Mike Burkett, Jim Slowik and Cody Kuhns carded a 56 to take first place in the Sheetz Family Christmas Golf Outing. Martin Sildo, JP West, Dave Mentz and Andy Kochanowski (57) took second, while Jaririd Magalich, Kevin Labarr, Phill Ferranti and Carm Cellura (58) placed third.


PHILIPSBURG – Jeff and Butch Martell carded a 121 to win the net division of the Philipsburg Country Club’s Member Guest Tournament on Sunday.

Ray Woodring and John O’Brien (123) finished second. Rick Campomizzi and Mouse Reese tied with Tim Ronan and Ron Ebert for third at 124.

Doug Goss and Dan Myers won the gross division with a 135, while Larry Potter and Irv Myers (142) took second. Arch and Jason Myers tied with Bob Mitchell and Josh Muir for third at 143. Terry Smith and Jim Kyler won the mini tournament with a 64.


HUNTINGDON – Ron Bargiel and Bob Lamey had the low gross of 37 in the Huntingdon Country Club’s Big Orange Golf League, while Bill Frazier had the low net of 32. Bargiel’s second shot on seventh hole was the shot of the day.

Results can be reported by e-mail to, by fax at 946-7540 or by phone at 946-7464.