Dillon captures first place at Iron Masters

ORE HILL – Matt Dillon claimed his first Iron Masters Club Championship with a 149, edging Garth Honsaker by one shot. Dillon joins his father, Rick, as the first father-son duo to win an Iron Masters club title. Wes Elder and Ed Smith tied for third at 153.

Gwen Paden won the women’s division with a 167, while Patti Dodson finished second. Brad Wierman won the handicap championship with a 131, while Jerry Weaver (132) was second, and Matt Dillon (133) was third.

Steve Gorman won the first flight with a 157, while Bryan James was second, and Mark Steele was third. Randy Jarratt and Doug Knisely Sr. tied for the second flight title at 159. Weaver and Doug Knisely Jr. tied for third. Don McCready took the third flight with a 171, while Wierman (173) was second, and John Dively (183) was third.

David Lucks won the Senior Club Championship with a 142, while Ken Love (144) was second, and Honsaker (145) was third. Steele won the 60 and over flight with a 152. Bill Burket won the 60 and over net division with a 135. Knisely Sr. won the net division in the 59 and under flight with a 134.

Scotch Valley

HOLLIDAYSBURG – David DeGol took first place in the championship flight of the men’s division of the Scotch Valley Country Club’s Medal Play Club Championship. Brian Hall and Seth Smith were second and third, respectively.

David DeGol Sr. took the first flight, while Steve Genter was second, and Joe Adams was third. Harry Duey won a sudden death playoff over Ben Walters on the second hole to win the second flight.

Michelle Day captured the women’s title, while Carol Onufrio, Chris Sisto and Sandy Nypaver finished second through fourth.

Dennis DeGol and Bryan James won the Member Guest Tournament gross with a 68. Bob Bilger and Brian Dinges (70) took second, and Bob Bilger and Darren Johnston (71) finished second.

Nick DeGol and Graham Nye tied with Joe Irwin and Calvin Andros for first in the net division with a 60. Ross and Lisa Woomer (63) finished third.


PHILIPSBURG – Michael and Jody Czap won the Husband & Wife Championship at the Philipsburg Country Club with a 72 on Sunday.

Andy and Judy Timchak (78) finished second, while Chip and Tracy Branthoover tied with Gary and Janice Yoder for third at 79. Scott and Amanda Nelson with the first flight with a 72, while Matt Christy Johnson (76) took second, and Gary and Missy Helsel (80) placed third. Mike Healey and Gabi Barnett won the open division with a 74.

PCC hosted the Elks Junior Championship, and Tyrone’s Andrew Ferguson was the tournament medalist and the boys 13-15 gross champion with an 81. Tyrone’s Ethan Vipond (84) was second, and Philipsburg-Osceola’s Payton Guelich (89) was third.

P-O’s Haylee Hayward won the girls gross 16-18 division with a 48, while P-O’s Julia Burns won the girls net 16-18 with a 51. P-O’s Halle Herrington won the girls gross 13-15 division with a 62, while Lacy Potter won the girls net 13-15 division with a 56.

P-O’s Carter Fischer lost a putt-off to Mifflin County’s Tre Fleck in the boys net 13-15 division after both scored 72. P-O’s Jarrod Anderson (74) finished third. P-O’s Trentin Herrington (77) took third in the boys net 16-18 division.


CRESSON – Mike Reese, Mark Boland and Stan Wojcik carded a 58 to win the Summit Country Club’s Member Appreciation Day on Sunday. Al Simanski, Rob Capelli and Tom Muldoon (61) took second, while Guido Fabbri, Joe Dziabo and James Moore (62) placed third.

Kate Conway, Maddie Krug, Jeanette Madey and Carrie Fogel won the women’s division with a 71. Tyler Smolko and Morghan Krug took first in the junior division with an 87.

Steve Perove, Dan Pincin, Bob Ruggiero and Dave Rito won a card-off against two other teams who scored 57 in the Hollidaysburg Golden Tiger Wrestling Benefit Outing. Ed Wyland, Dave Wyland, Mike Wyland and Ben Wyland took second, while Christian Harr, Anthony Musselman, Mike Heist and Tyler Claar placed third.

Skill prize winners were Sunie McCallen (women’s longest drive on 3), Dave Wyland (closest tee shot on 4, closest second shot on 15), Ron Benton (drive closest to line on 6), Steve Yoder (closest tee shot on 8) , Eric Frick (closest tee shot on 12) and Jason Zimmerman (longest drive on 16).

Sylvan Hills

HOLLIDAYSBURG – David Snyder took first place in the low gross, while Steve Long was second in the Sylvan Hills Golf Club’s Medal Play Club Championship.

Dave Biseli won the low net, while Ethan Devore was second.


HUNTINGDON – Ed Gargula took the low gross with a 35, while Rick Bayer won the low net with a 35 in the Big Orange Golf League at the Huntingdon Country Club.

Bayer’s putt on the 18th hole for birdie and the win was a shot of the day, as was Gargula’s putt on the 18th for birdie.

Results can be reported by e-mail to tirwin@altoonamirror.com, by fax at 946-7540 or by phone at 946-7464.