Layton captures victory at Port Royal Speedway

Port Royal – Chad Layton finally put a bright spot into his season of struggles aboard the Middleswarth No. 7 sprint car when he found his way to victory lane at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night to claim his first win of the year anywhere.

In the 25-lap late model championship event, Jeff Rine picked up the $2,000 win after trailing Port Royal point leader Mike Lupfer for the first half of the race.

And in the 355 econo late model main, Tim Krape picked up his first-ever win in the new division at the track.

Lincoln Speedway

Abbottstown – Former champ Lance Dewease sounded like the 299-time sprint car winner that he is after scoring his 37th career win at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.

“When we start where we did here tonight, we’d better win that thing!” said Dewease after exiting the C.C. Dietz/Conduit Connections/Hess Ornamental Iron Works No. 14 in victory lane,

Tyler Ross won in only his second appearance of the year in the 20-lap 358 sprint car feature. Ross, now driving the Tim Eldreth No. 23 J, started sixth and took just six laps to catch polesitter and race-long leader Isaac Sneeringer for the lead. Pasadena, Md’s Kurt Zimmerman took advantage of a crash that involved the top three drivers to come from the back after an early-race spin and win the 20-lap All-American Outlaw feature.

Williams Grove Speedway

Mechanicsburg – Stevie Smith drove to his third 410 sprint car win of the season on Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway as he tuned up for this weekend’s World of Outlaws Summer Nationals with a victory worth $4,000.

In 358 sprint action, it was Kevin Nouse of Lewisberry taking his third win of the season at the track as well.

Hummingbird Speedway

Reynoldsville – Chris Farrell from Clearfield claimed his spot once again in the winner’s circle in the BWP Bats Steel Block Late Model division at Hummingbird Speedway on Saturday night.

Kyle Shannon from Brockway took to the high line and found it to his liking, winning the street stock race. In the Sunny 106.5 Micro Sprint class, Bryce Craft from Frenchville was the best of the winged warriors, winning his feature race. The pure stock race was down to the wire in a photo finish, with Doug Surra earning the win. Eric Boozel from McVeytown took the checkered flag in the front wheel drive four cylinder division.

America’s Motorsports Park

Clearfield – Pete Ivory of Irvona and Jamie Price of Clearfield picked up their first feature wins of the 2014 season Saturday night in the Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates and the Srock Contracting Street Stocks, respectively.

Repeat winners included Duane Stiner of Houtzdale in the Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models, Eric Lucas of Clearfield in the WG Satterlee and Sons Pure Stocks and Garrett Watkins of Huntingdon in the Clearfield County Metals Four Cylinders.

Dog Hollow Speedway

Strongstown – Joe Martin returned to victory lane after a one-year layoff in the Lias Tire FASTRAK Crate Late Models, and Tom Pavelko was awarded the four wheel drive four cylinder win for his first of the season.

Mike Blose (Townsend Gas & Oil Super Late Models), Nate Smith (street stocks) and Jon Lee (pure stocks) were all repeat winners Friday night at Dog Hollow Speedway.

Hagerstown Speedway

Hagerstown, Md. – If it wasn’t hot enough outside, Marvin Winters was really working up a sweat on Christmas in July night at Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol as he battled Roy Deese Jr. for the $3,000 late model win.

Going inside to pass a lapped car on the front stretch, Deese’s attempt around the outside ended with a hard crash into the first turn fence. Winters continued the final 11 laps to post the win over Jason Covert by 1.38 seconds.

In other racing, third-generation driver Mike Walls fought back emotions following his career first win in the late model dportsman feature. It was another day in the office for Mike Corbin, who posted his ninth win in the pure stock event, while Matt Williamson finally wrapped up his first win in the four-cylinder feature. Defending Classic Racing Series champion Matt Wallace scored his Hagerstown second of the year with the Bill Bollinger Memorial event.

Pittsburgh Motor Speedway

Pittsburgh – Racing at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway on Saturday showcased some of the best drivers around in the Tri State Championship Sweeney Chevrolet/Pace Performance GM 604 GM Engine Giveaway RUSH Tour Sizzler, with Fairmont, WVa.’s Ryan Montgomery taking the win, and Robbie Marhefka walking away with the brand new engine.

Keith Barbara took the checkered flag in the Diehl of Robinson Super Late Model feature. The night also featured the 410 Winged Sprints, with Jack Sodeman winning the race by a comfortable margin.

Jennerstown Speedway

Jennerstown – Cody Quarrick won his career first ARCA Truck series on Saturday at Jennerstown in a truck powered by Ford Racing S347JR V-8 engine, in the first visit to PA since their event at Motordrome Speedway in 2010.

The late models win was claimed by Matt Sever. The Morocco Welding Chargers win was picked up by Steve Long. Matt Welch claimed the North Star Equipment Hobby stock win. Teddy Gibala picked up the Penstan Street Stock win.