Landry triumphs on Junior Tour

EBENSBURG – Hollidaysburg native Jerome Landry shot a 79 to win the Boys 16-18 Oakmont Divison when the North East Junior Golf Tour stopped at Ebensburg Country club on Monday.

Jesse Ottaway (Hollidaysburg) and Collin Seymour (Ebensburg) each shot an 82 to tie for second, while David Snyder (Hollidaysburg) shot an 86 and Grant Delozier (Hollidaysburg) an 87.

David Schraff (Hollidaysburg) also shot a 79 to win the Boys 16-18 Pine Divison.

Alex Keipert (Ebensburg) carded a 76 to capture the Boys 13-15 Oakmont Divison by 10 strokes.

Hunter Duriez (Northern Cambria) shot an 93 to take third, Andrew Ferguson (Altoona) carded a 98 for fourth and Payton Guelich (Philipsburg) finished at 99 for fifth.

Nate Lawhead’s (Altoona) 85 won him first place in the Boys 13-15 Pine Valley Division, as Matt Krupa (Huntingdon) came in second with an 89.

The Boys 10-12 Divison was won by Gregory Caldwell (Lilly) with a 94, while John Imgrund (Bedford) carded a 106 for second and Ally Bihary (Hollidaysburg) shot a 117 to finish second in the Girls Divison.

Iron Masters

ORE HILL – Steve Gorman and David Lucks won the Member Member Best Ball with rounds of 73-68 for a 141 total. They edged out Lee Elder and Garth Honsaker who finished second at 142 and Eric Glunt and Wally Clapper at 143. In the First Flight, Isaac Wood and Steve Beach shot 144 for two days to claim first place.

Charlie Ball and Rick Lee were second at 146 and Ken Emigh and Mark Steele were third at 147. Bob Ebersole and Keith McGraw took top honors in Second Flight with 155. They were one shot ahead of Rich Eckard and Jerry Weaver and two ahead of Tudor Trifan and Joe Pyzowski. Chip Will and Don McCready won Third Flight with 165. Dave Myers and Jim Myers shot 172 to take second while Daryl Lawson and Brad Wierman shot 179 for third.

Wes Elder and Bryan James defeated Ed Smith and Honsaker 2 and 1 to win the Iron Masters Member Member Match Play Championship. In the First Flight, Jack Wagner and Doug Knisely, Sr. Bob Ebersole and McGraw 6 and 4.

In the Ladies Spring Tournament, Gwen Paden won overall gross with 83 while Patti Dodson won overall net with 74.


HUNTINGDON – Ed Gargula had the lowest gross of 37, and Rick Bayer and Jim Lasko had the lowest net at 33.

Lone Pine Country Club

WASHINGTON – Tyrone native Jimmy Gillam took second place at the PNC West Penn Open Sectional Qualifying, shooting a 2-under 70.

Park Hills

Lynn Grove and Ron Hutchison teamed up to win the Seniors Throw Out Random 3 event at Park Hills Country Club on Wednesday.

Bill Deremer and Tom Moore came in second, while Sen Thach and Robert Lestochi combined for third and Herb Bolger and Ron Dandrea were fourth.

The duo of Nancy Moore and Doe Bolger (57) won Ladies’ Day at Park Hills on Tuesday.

Sinking Valley

TYRONE – John Graham, Harry Miller and Andy Kushner (123) won the Senior Best Ball Event at Sinking Valley Country Club.

Don Christofer, Bob Brown and Tim Wiedemer (124) were runners up and Mike Starr, John Berhart and Gary Garofoli (125) combined for third.

Somerset Country Club

SOMERSET – Ben Strollo, of Northern Cambria, shot a 79 to win the Boys 16-18 Divison when the North East Junior Golf Tour played at Somerset Country club on Thursday.

David Schraff, of Hollidaysburg, shot a 85 to tie for third place.

The Boys 13-15 Division was won by Ebensburg’s Alex Kiepert, who carded a 75.

Hunter Duriez, of Northern Cambria, shot an 85 to take second, while Kyler Pennabaker, of New Paris, came in fourth with a 94.


CRESSON – The team of Tom Seitz, Wes Turiano, Dave Finui and Paul Seitz shot a 58 recently to win the Greater Johnstown YMCA Benefit Golf Outing at the Summit Country Club.

The team of Dave Seigh, Brett Vickroy, Paul Gobel and Bob Hagerich finished one back at 59, followed by the team of Jen Wagner, Rick Neff, Mike Puruczky and Bob Schrock at 60.

Closest to the tee winners included Ron Olszewski (No. 4), Al Simanski (No. 8) and Shawn Schellhammer (No. 12). Megan Foster got the longest drive honor (No. 16) while Dick Scholton got the longest putt honor (No. 18).

Dale Perino, Dillon Perino, Doug Fogel and Hop Burgoon defeated D.J. Michina, Denny Michina, Larry Benton and Rick Slebodnik in a playoff to win the Penn Cambria Golf Boosters Benefit Scramble on Monday.

Ian Dunmeyer made a 90-yard shot to seal third place with Mike Dunmyer, Keith Saleme and Tony Mignona.

Sylvan Hills

HOLLIDAYSBURG – The team of Walt Focht, Harry Murphy, Joe Judy and Denise Madden earned first place in the Sunday Scramble thanks to a card-off score of 33. Dave McCoy, Steve Downing, Sandy Murphy and Helen Singel finished in second. John Kyle, Brenda Fleck and Barbara Smith finished third with a 34.

On Tuesday, the team of Brenda Flick, Lynn Durbin, Sandy Murphy and Helen Singel took first place in the Par 3 Scramble. Mary Jane Terza, Shirley Wilkinson, Iris Hileman and Bonnie Robeson took second and the team of Carol Young, Linda Zorger, Janet Grove and Cathy Staplefield finished third.

Durbin won the longest putt competion on No. 3 and Denise Madden won it on the No. 8.

On Sunday June 15, Ray and Gary Naugle took first in the Father and Son Tournament. Gary and Jason Zimmerman took second and Bill and David Snyder took third.


APOLLO – Jeremy Eckenrode, of Ebensburg, shot a 167 in 36 holes at the Western Pennsylvania Golf Association U.S. Junior Amateur Sectional Qualifying at Willowbrook Country Club.

Anthony Cordaro, of Pittsburgh, shot shot a 155 to move on as the qualifier for the region.