Satterlee captures first career feature at Bedford

BEDFORD – Gregg Satterlee scored his first ever Bedford Speedway feature win as the Three State Fliers invaded the track Friday night.

The win made Satterlee the 131st different LM winner in the long history of the track and came in convincing fashion. In other Friday action, Lou Wannyn wired the semi-late field, Jonathan Taylor won the Emod race, and Travis Group won the destructive pure stock event, before third generation driver Bailey Johnson scored his first ever four-cylinder race.

Chuck Clise led the late model field to the green, but it was Andy Haus ahead on the first lap. Although Haus opened up an early distance on the field, Kenny Pettyjohn closed quickly and took over on lap 4. Several quick cautions closed up the field, coming on lap 5, 7 and 9, but Pettyjohn got away from Haus and the field each time.

A lengthy caution flew on lap 16 as the cars of Tim Wilson and Chad Hollenbeck tangled and got hooked together in turn 4 in what would be the last slowdown of the event.

On that restart, Pettyjohn led Haus and a fast closing Gregg Satterlee who had previously run down the leaders. On lap 17, Satterlee got by Haus for second and chased after Pettyjohn. The pair battled for several laps, but Satterlee blew by on lap 23 and never looked back. Haus meanwhile fell back into the clutches of Justin Kann and Jason Covert as he held on to third.

Satterlee stretched out the field over the last 10 laps, dancing in and out of lapped traffic but never looking back. At the finish it was Satterlee by a straightaway over Pettyjohn, Haus, Kann, Covert and Jeff Rine, who was looking for a fourth consecutive Bedford win. Colby Frye, Matt Sponaugle, Vic Coffey and DJ Troutman completed the top 10.


Williams Grove Speedway: Stevie Smith gave Fred Rahmer his first win as a car owner at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, scoring for the first time in track history for the retired racer turned sprint car owner. Smith led 24 of 25-laps of the main event to pocket the $4,000 payday, which was the 26th win of his career at the oval. In the PASS 305 sprint series it was Eric Parker who took the win, holding off Mark Watkins for the victory.

Hagerstown Speedway: On Friday, in the first of three shows over the Memorial Day holiday weekend at Hagerstown Speedway, Keith “Action” Jackson recorded his first ever Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Late Model triumph at the facility in the Ernie Jones 22 while Rich Eichelberger dominated the season’s first appearance for the Blazer’s Auto Body Super Sportsman to score that victory after previously winning at the track on September 9, 2010. Following several showers that delayed things getting under way by close to 2 hours on Saturday evening, a five car invert put Gregg Satterlee on the outside pole for the Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Late Model feature and he made good of the starting position by leading all 35 laps to bank the $3,000 winning share after beating Marvin Winters to the finish by 2.47 seconds. Running second in the Mallory Ford Late Model Sportsman’s Saturday feature on night two of Memorial Day weekend events, Kyle Lear did it one better Sunday on night three. He led all the way from the outside pole to pocket the Mallory Ford $1.000 in the 25-lap event, his second win of the season.

Dog Hollow Speedway: Repeat winners was the theme of the night at Dog Hollow Speedway as Clate Copeman (Townsend Gas & Oil Super Late Models), Mike Laughard (Lias Tire FASTRAK Crate Late Models), Bob Pease (Four Cylinders) and Nate Smith (Street Stocks) all won their second features of the season. Altoona’s Ryan Claycomb won his first-ever Pure Stock A-Main.

Hummingbird Speedway: At Hummingbird Speedway in Falls Creek, Eric Moore from Frenchville was hot right out of the box in the BWP Bats Steel Block Late Model Class. Bruce Hartzfeld out of Stump Creek hung in there and was the best of the evening in the Street Stock Division. The Micro Sprint competitors brought a great field of cars with Sean McAndrew from Apollo topping out the field. Doug Surra from Kersey continued a good start for 2014 with his second win in a row in the Pure Stock Class. Capitalizing on his second place finish of last week, Zach Lindemuth from Brockway was the feature winner in the Front Wheel Drive Four Cylinders.

America’s Motorsports Park: With a rainbow over the pits and the track being run in following a brief shower in Clearfield, America’s Motorsports Park pulled off its second show of the season Saturday night, with Duane Stiner of Houtzdale winning the Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models, Brian Walker of Somerset in the Point Break and Spring Laurel Highland Sprints; Louie Jacoby Jr. of Fernwood in the Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates; Johnny Lindenpitz of Knox Dale in the Srock Contracting Street Stocks; Nick Erskine of Mahaffey in the Satterlee Oil Pure Stocks and Garrett Watkins in the Clearfield County Metals Four Cylinders.

Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway: After a rainy start to the month of May, racing at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway was back in action. The fast track provided for some great racing, with Saxonburg’s Alex Ferree claiming his second win of the season in the Diehl of Robinson DIRTcar Super Late Model division. Returning to the track for the first time since 2008, Russ Kolesar of West Mifflin took the checkered flag in the Precise Racing Products Rush Late Model feature, and Bill Robinson had a commanding lead to finish first in the Sunoco Race Fuels Sportsman division. Fan favorite Hannah Ramsey claimed her second career win in the Miley BP Car Wash Hobby Stock feature, and Roman O’Neill (filling in for an injured Karlee Kovacs) took the checkers in the Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns race. Appearing for the first time this season, the Rush Crate Modifieds feature winner was Adam Hilton of Buffalo, N.Y. Finally, Kelvin Kohan added another feature win to his total this season in the Scale Late Model division.

Local tracks and teams are encouraged to e-mail news and results to: