McIntyre prevails

MECHANICSBURG – Gerard McIntyre Jr. held off the furious charges of Stevie Smith and Brian Montieth to win the 2014 season opener for sprint cars at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night.

In the 358 sprint main, it was front-row starter Adrian Shaffer who wired the field for the 20-lap victory.

Williams Grove will host the super late model stock cars along with the Lawrence Chevrolet 410 sprints this Friday night at 7:30 p.m.

The super late appearance on the 2014 slate of events will be the only one of its kind at the historic oval this year.

Bobby Goodling sits atop the Williams Grove super late model all-time win list with 31 checkered flags. Other drivers with double-digit Williams Grove wins to their credit include Ronnie McBee, Gary Stuhler, Gary Snelbaker, Tom Peck, Larry Gorman, Denny Bonebrake, Jimmy McBee, Slim Devilbiss and Paul Long.

The only super late model show at the track last year was taken by York Haven’s Jason Covert.