Esh the big winner at Williams Grove

Mechanicsburg – Doug Esh of Lancaster wired the field for a $7,500 payday in Friday night’s 30-lap Tommy Hinnershitz Memorial Spring Classic for sprint cars at the Williams Grove Speedway.

Esh streaked away to the victory, his first in the prestigious event and first at the track since 2011. His margin was that of some six seconds over the rest of the field. The win was also a Williams Grove career first for car owner Gary and Linda Heckman. Pat Cannon was second followed by Stevie Smith, Greg Hodnett and Dave Blaney.

Frankie Herr finally wrestled the lead away from Duaine Smith as the pair raced through the second corner on the final lap of the 20-lap super sportsman feature event.


Hagerstown SPEEDWAY: D. J. Myers, an 18-year veteran, finally ended a drought dating to June 2008 and scored his 15th career Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Late Model triumph at the Hagerstown Speedway. Myers began from the outside pole and held off challenges of eight-time champion Roy Deese Jr. to win by .517 second in a one-lap shootout.

Repeating wins from the previous week included Mike Corbin in the pure-stock feature by a 7.4 second margin, and Gary Proctor, who drove to his second win of the season in the Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stocks race. Ryan Laye ran side by side with previous week’s winner Kevin Thomas for 10 laps to win the Cochran Auctioneers Four-Cylinder race.

PORT?ROYAL SPEEDWAY: Last year on Easter weekend at the Port Royal Speedway, it was Dave Blaney invading and winning in the 410-sprint division. This year it was his brother Dale Blaney who pulled of the same feat, taking Saturday night’s 25-lap sprint main.

Brett Schadel broke a long dry spell in the late-model division by beating Mike Lupfer while John Braim scored his first career win at Port Royal in the 305 sprint division.

Selinsgrove SPEEDWAY: Mark Smith took advantage of his pole position by wiring the field for his first victory of the season in Saturday night’s 67th United Racing Company 360 sprint car season opener at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Steve Campbell inherited the lead on lap seven from Jeff Rine and drove to his first win of the season and the 45th of his career in the 25-lap super late-model feature. Campbell owns a combined 81 career victories at the speedway.

Brad Mitch and Keith Bissinger repeated wins in the 15-lap pro stock and 12-lap roadrunner features, respectively.

LINCOLN SPEEDWAY: Alan Krimes drove his No. 87 car to victory lane this past weekend at the Lincoln Speedway to win the 30-lap 410 Sprint Car Spring Championship

Other winners included Kevin Nouse, who raced his way from his 12th starting spot to score an impressive win in the 20-lap feature for his second straight win in the 358 Sprint car action.

At the age of just 15, Michelle Walls captured her first-ever street stock feature win in the only appearance of the season by the division this season at Lincoln. He started fourth and took the lead on the 12th lap from Gary Potts and held on over the final eight laps in the win over Potts, Walt Lemmon, Bob Scott, Jr. and Chris Heller.

SUSQUEHANNA?SPEEDWAY: Gene Knaub became the third different late-model winner in as many events this season at the Susquehanna Speedway Park on Saturday night.

Jasen Geesaman took the checkered flag for the second straight week in the street stock 20-lap feature. Patrick McClane won the Xtreme stock car 20 lapper. The 15-lap road warrior feature was won by Daryl Sipe. Brian Gagliardo won the PENNMAR Vintage Car 12-lap feature event. Zakari Kitner claimed his second 12-lap mini-van feature this season, while Keith Dorsey was the Jr. Road Warrior winner.

PATH?VALLEY?SPEEDWAY: Cory Myers led the 270cc micro-sprint feature to the green flag and beat Brian Heist into turn one for the early lead to triumph at the Path Valley Speedway.

Josh Stoyer started fourth, but was into second by the end of lap one. Stoyer quickly closed the gap on Myers and began to apply the pressure. Exiting turn four on lap six, Stoyer looked to the inside and drove past as they went down the front stretch. Only one caution slowed the event, just before the halfway mark, and Stoyer pulled away to lead by nearly a straightaway at the finish.

Jim Young continued his strong start to 2014, starting second and leading all 20 laps uncontested to win the 600cc micro-sprint feature. Ken Singer controlled the street-stock field all night, first winning the heat race, and then leading all twenty laps to win the feature. Justin Williamson took the same route as Singer, winning the heat race and leading the feature from start-to-finish for his first win in the four-cylinder thunder cars. Dillon Wilson scored his first career win in the mini-stock feature.