Hollidaysburg hockey team advances to final

JOHNSTOWN – The Hollidaysburg Area High School ice hockey team kept its season alive with an upset of top-seeded Johnstown in the Laurel Mountain Hockey League semifinals on Wednesday.

The Golden Tigers received two goals from Milo Defay and three assists from Brandon Ritchey to knock off Johnstown, 4-3, at Planet Ice.

The Tigers, the fourth seed, advanced to the finals to face second-seeded Somerset, a 4-3 winner over Richland. The championship game is slated for Thursday, March 20 at Pegula Ice Arena in University Park.

Hunter Shields got the Tigers off on the right foot with a first-period goal on an assist from Andrew Vonada. But Johnstown tied it on a Nick Farrell goal before the period ended.

Johnstown took a 2-1 advantage in the second period when Devin Smith scored on an unassisted goal. But less than 6 minutes later, Defay scored his first goal on an assist from Ritchey to knot the score at 2-2 heading to the final period.

Just as they did in their quarterfinal win over Bishop Guilfoyle, Hollidaysburg scored quickly in the third period with Defay scoring a power-play goal with assists from Ritchey and Vonada. Less than 1 minute later, Ritchey fed Jonathan Bilek for an insurance goal to put Hollidaysburg up 4-2.

Smith scored again for Johnstown at the 14:42 mark of the third, but Hollidaysburg hung on for the win.

Goalie Brandon Amigh sopped 34 of 37 shots, while Johnstown’s Bo Sheriff stopped 23 of 27. Hollidaysburg did not pick up any penalties but had five power-play chances of its own.


Hollidaysburg1 1 1-3

Johnstown 1 1 2-4


FIRST PERIOD: H-Shields (Vonada), 9:43; J-Farrell (Mullen), 12:15.

SECOND PERIOD: J-Smith (unassisted), 4:10; H-Defay (Ritchey), 9:58.

THIRD PERIOD: H-Defay (Ritchey, Vonada), 3:34; H-Bilek (Ritchey), 4:11; J-Smith (Mullen), 14:42.

Goalies: Amigh, H, 34 shots saved-37 shots faced; Sheriff, 23 shots saved-27 shots faced.

Area swimmers miss medals

LEWISBURG – It was close but no chance of medaling for several area swimmers on Wednesday at the PIAA Class AAA State Diving and Swimming Championships at Bucknell University.

For Hollidaysburg, the Golden Tigers’ best showing was the 200-yard medley relay team of Colter Long, Mace Long, Greg Dinges and Alex Gehringer, which finished 18th in 1:38.01. The top 16 advance to the finals with a chance to medal. The cutoff was Upper Dubin with a time of 1:37.57.

The 200 freestyle relay team of both Longs, Dinges and Max Gehringer finished 21st in 1:30.91. The cutoff at No. 16 was Governor Mifflin at 1:27.84.

On his own, Mace Long finished 30th in 53.00 seconds in the 100 butterfly. The cutoff at 16 was Greg Arnold of North Allegheny, who finished in 51.74.

Mace and Colter Long will swim again today with Mace competing in the 100 backstroke and Colter in the 100 breaststroke.

For Altoona, Katerina Parowski competed in the 200 freestyle where she finished 26th in 1:57.36.

“She did great. She pretty much equaled her time from districts, which was a nice time drop,” Altoona coach Andy Smearman said. “She was seeded 29th and wound up 26th so we were happy.”

The cutoff at No. 16 for Parowski was Laura Barthold of Unionville, who finished in 1:54.26.

“She actually led the race in her heat for about the first 150 yards, and then the last 50 yards I think she tightened up a bit,” Smearman said.

Parowski will swim in the 100 freestyle this morning at 10:30.

Sideling Hill stars named

Northern Bedford’s Kyler Diehl and Blake Over, along with Tussey Mountain’s Luke Zelanko, were each named to the first team of the Sideling Hill basketball all-stars, which were announced on Wednesday.

Tyler Wiley (Chestnut Ridge), Michael Mitchell (Tussey Mountain) and Zane Snyder (Northern Bedford) were named to the second team.

Breana Kendrick (Tussey Mountain) and McKenzie Feather (Chestnut Ridge) were named to the girls’ first team, while Morgan Lynn (Tussey Mountain), Hannah Drenning (Northern Bedford), Sydney Snyder (Northern Bedford), Kadie Morral (Everett) and Logan Brallier (Everett) were all second-team selections.


FIRST TEAM-Kyler Diehl, Northern Bedford; Luke Zelanko, Tussey Mountain; Jordan Clingerman, Southern Fulton; Blake Over, Northern Bedford; Walker Bannister, Fannett-Metal.

SECOND TEAM-Tyler Wiley, Chestnut Ridge; Connor Litton, Southern Fulton; Tristan Gelvin, Forbes Road; Michael Mitchell, Tussey Mountain; Zane Snyder, Northern Bedford.

HONORABLE MENTION-Dylan Gordon, Southern Fulton.


FIRST TEAM-Macey Hollenshead, Southern Fulton; Breana Kendrick, Tussey Mountain; McKenzie Feather, Chestnut Ridge; Ashley Roman, Southern Fulton; Bronwyne Mellott, McConnellsburg.

SECOND TEAM-Morgan Lynn, Tussey Mountain; Hannah Drenning, Northern Bedford; Kadie Morral, Everett; Sydney Snyder, Northern Bedford; Olivia Mottern, Southern Fulton; Logan Brallier, Everett.

HONORABLE MENTION-Melissa Zeger, Fannett-Metal; Braylin Hohman, Forbes Road.

Heritage stars picked

Northern Cambria’s Seth Bearer and Katie Baum were named to the 2014 Heritage All-Conference Basketball Team.


Homer-Center: Joe Capitosti, Darren Carr; Blairsville: Troy Williams; Marion Center: Todd Fetsko; Ligonier Valley: Jordan Jones; Saltsburg: Ian Satler; Penns Manor: Mitch Hamilton; Purchase Line: Taylor Antisdel; United: Michael Gill; Northern Cambria: Seth Bearer.


Blairsville: Laurel O’Barto, Chelsey Koren; Marion Center: Chantel Glasser; Ligonier Valley: Taylor Rudnik; Penns Manor: Sarah Dabella; Homer-Center: Sydney Horel; United: Eden Bloom; Saltsburg: Emilie Okopal; Purchase Line: Jaycelyn Fleming; Northern Cambria: Katie Baum.

Davis gets B-A blanket

BELLWOOD – Nathan Davis was awarded the Denny Campbell Memorial Blanket Award when the Bellwood-Antis High School boys basketball team recently announced its team awards.

Jake Burch earned the Defensive Player of the Year, Alex Bartlett earned the Offensive Player of the Year, and Jim McDowell Scholarship Award, and Devin Burr earned the Don Beaver Spirit Award.