Alli Williams nominated for Sullivan Award

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. – The Amateur Athletic Union announced Monday that St. Francis women’s basketball player Alli Williams is one of 19 nominees that have been selected for the 2013 James E. Sullivan Award, which honors the nation’s outstanding amateur athlete.

Other nominees include Olympic gold medalists David Boudia and Katie Ledecky, along with college football stars AJ McCarron, University of Alabama, Blake Bortles, University of Central Florida, and Tre Mason, member of Auburn’s 2013 BCS National Champion team.

Williams and the Red Flash will play at Mount St. Mary’s Wednesday in the NEC Tournament semifinals. Voting is open to the public and will account for one-third of the athlete’s overall score.

The nominees were nominated by someone who thought they fit the requirements of outstanding athletic ability, strong character, leadership and sportsmanship. The public can cast their vote by going to Voting will remain open until March 23 at midnight.

Three finalists will be named no later than March 28 and the winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on Friday, April 11, at the AAU National Headquarters in Orlando.

The Sullivan Award has been presented annually since 1930, and is based on character, leadership and sportsmanship. Notable recipients of the AAU Sullivan Award include: Mark Spitz, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Florence Joyner, Peyton Manning, Michael Phelps, J.J. Redick, Tim Tebow, Shawn Johnson and Missy Franklin.