Holden captures feature

Clearfield – Lightning flashing all around the speedway and the rumble of thunder sometimes louder than the cars and even a brief drizzle here and there didn’t deter the cars and fans from pulling into America’s Motorsports Park for the return of the 358/Small Block Modifieds.

Jimmy Holden won the SBM feature while repeat winners included Luke Hoffner in the Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models, Jake Shady in the Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Lates, Curtis Teats in the Harter and Sons Garage Street Stocks, Hunter McCracken in the Quigley’s Pub Pure Stocks and Josh Frantz in the Clearfield County Metals Four Cylinders.

Port Royal

PORT ROYAL – Jason Covert made his first career Port Royal Speedway late model win a big one on Saturday night when he won the annual Butch Renninger Memorial in a Three State Flyers Series event for the division at the track.

In the 410 sprint main it was point leader Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove wiring the field for his fifth win of the year at the oval and expanding his lead in the points with just three full point races left on the season.

Tim Krape won the Renninger Memorial for pro stocks on the night while Jason Zook won his second enduro dash of the season in honor of Renninger as well.

Lincoln Speedway

Abbottstown – Glenndon Forsythe started fourth, grabbed the lead exiting the first two turns, and drove away from the field to score his second career Lincoln win in the 25-lap “410” sprint car feature on Saturday night. It was Forsythe’s first Lincoln win since June of 2001, and this time came in the Livingston Lawn Care No. 2W owned by Norm, Penny, and daughter Whitney Wisner of Hanover, the family’s first career win.

The checkered flag fell on the first of three features just a few minutes before midnight, following a two-hour rain delay.

One night after claiming his first career “358” sprint car win at Trail-Way Speedway, Fawn Grove’s Matt Campbell drove to his first career Lincoln win. In doing so, the Kennard-Dale sophomore become the third 15-year-old rookie to win a “358” sprint car feature at Lincoln this season.

A double-points night for the Central PA “358” point series solidified Austin Hogue’s hold on the season-long series. Mike Enders took the lead from Rich Eichelberger on lap 18 to claim his first win of the year in the 25-lap super sportsman feature.

Lincoln will return to action this Saturday night at 7 p.m. for the final 358 Sprint point race. Joining them will be the PASS RaceSaver (305) Sprints, and Thundercars. Gates will open at 5.

Selinsgrove Speedway

Selinsgrove – Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills turned in a dominating performance for his first career victory at Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday night in the inaugural 40-lap “Showdown on Sand Hill” World of Outlaws Late Model Series event.

Satterlee, who became the ninth different late model winner at the track this season, earned $8,000 for his second career win with the World of Outlaws and sixth overall victory in 2013 at the wheel of the No. 22.

Jeff Rine of Danville was the Fast Tees Fast Qualifier over a field of 35 super late models with a lap of 19.266.

Nathan Long of Selinsgrove won his third race of the season in the 15-lap pro stock feature.

On Sunday, defending World of Outlaws champion Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., rebounded from Saturday night’s overheating issues with his No. 29 race car and drove to a convincing victory in the 15th annual Jeff’s Auto Body & Recycling Center Late Model National Open at Selinsgrove Speedway.

The $10,000 win came in front of a large crowd and was Lanigan’s first career at Selinsgrove and his 10th on the national tour. He became the track’s 10th different super late model feature winner this season.

Gene Knaub of Dover also won the first race of his career at Selinsgrove and his 16th overall this season in the 20-lap limited late model feature.

Williams Grove Speedway

Mechanicsburg – Brian Montieth and Ryan Taylor were named co-winners of the Billy Kimmel Memorial for sprint cars at Williams Grove Speedway on Sunday night.

Montieth led Taylor as they raced under the flagstand with one lap to go. Montieth then lifted and Taylor drove by however Montieth then regained speed and raced with Taylor, but fell short at the checkered flag.

An inadvertent yellow flag was unfurled instead of the white flag when the pair crossed the stripe and that’s why Montieth had slowed momentarily.

After a discussion between track officials, it was decided that both drivers would be given credit for a win and earn $3,600 each.

It was Taylor’s first career speedway win. For Montieth, it was his first win of the season and 14th of his career.

Four laps were completed in the 358 sprint feature before the race was red flagged and the stands were cleared due to nearby lightning. Rain began to fall and the decision was made to postpone the remaining 16 laps and it will be completed in two weeks. Adrian Shaffer was leading the feature over D.J. Montgomery, point leader Kevin Nouse, Chandler Leiby and Austin Hogue.

Hagerstown Speedway

Hagerstown, Md. – After competing Friday evening in the Three State Flyers McBee/Hays late model event, Justin Weaver was behind the wheel again on Saturday in the Run What You Brung event. The newly crowned 2013 late model sportsman champion battled with Mike Walls until taking control with seven to go and claimed his second win by 2.763 seconds over Walls.

Mike Desch led the pure stocks from the pole in the four car inverted start with third starter Bill Henney taking control on the second lap and a more than four second lead over Steve Lowery with five to go and stretched it to a margin of 8.458 seconds at the finish.

Jamie Zentmyer came from sixth to take the hobby stock lead away from Ed Vagle on the third lap and held on for the win.

Kevin Thomas led the first three four cylinder laps before thee time winner Cody Kershner went by on lap four. Kershner’s lead was short lived as third starter Ryan Laye had his spoiler covered racer on the move and was past Kershner and pulling away. Laye continued to drive away and ended 4.6 seconds ahead of Kershner.

Susquehanny Speedway

Newberrytown – Manchester’s Randy Christine Jr. won his third Late Model feature win in a row at the Susquehanna Speedway Park on Saturday night, August 31. Chambersburg’s Doug Bennett won the extra distance Street Stock race to claim his first win of the season. Travis Horan of Manchester claimed his second Xtreme Stock victory of the 2013 season. Maryland’s Bill Brown Jr. beat out Roland Brown by about a foot to win the action-packed Classic Car 20 lapper.

PA Motor Speedway

Pittsburgh – The Sweeney Chevrolet RUSH Touring Series made its second visit to Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway on Saturday, with PPMS regular Tommy Schirnhofer scored his first ever Touring Series win. In other racing action lady racer Hannah Ramsey claimed her first ever Hobby Stock victory while Alex Ferree (Diehl of Robinson Super Late Models), Jeff Broniszewski (Sunoco Race Fuels Late Model Sportsman) and Dylan Bolind (Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns) were repeat winners.