Groves, Singers earn Park Hills CC crown

Darlene and Lynn Grove carded a 75 to win the low gross of the Park Hills Couples Championship, while Paula and Doug Singer scored a 63.4 to take the low net.

Darlene Grove, Janet Grove and Nancy Moore carded a 70 to win the Park Hills Ladies Closing Scramble – eight strokes ahead of Cindy Trimarco, Doe Bolger, Louise Welsch and Donna Mannino (78).

Don Brown, Bill Deremer, W.T. Williams and Bob Lestochi won the Senior Slam Closing Scramble with a 62. Lynn Grove, Herb Bolger, Ron Hutchison and Hank Codd (64) finished second, while Basil Mannino, Mike Slavin, Bill Dambeck and Pete Litzinger (65) took third.

The final points show that Lynn Grove won with 136, while Dave Francis (115) was second, and Mannino (107) was third.

Earlier, Lynn Grove, Bob Lestochi and Jim Burke won the Senior Slam Man in the Box with a 161. Rich Papp, Ron Dandrea and Maury Lawruk won a card-off with Ken Luke, John Beyer and Pete Litzinger are both teams carded a 162.

In the Sept. 11, Senior Slam, Lynn Grove Bob Lestochi had the low gross of 70, while Mannino and Litzinger (73) was second and Joe Hocherl and Rick Drabic (79) took third. Slavin and Paul Smith had the low net of 53, while Ken Waite and Tom Foose (55) took second and Bert Hobbs and Bill Dambeck (55) placed third.

Keith Danner and Bill Allen won the first flight of the Wednesday Men’s League, while John Koury and Tom Trimarco was second, and Matt Baker and Eric Irwin took third.

Rex Kaup and Greg Michelone won the second flight, while Dale Wills and Steve Ritchey finished second, and Doug Singer and Bob Mucklow took third. Charley Robinson and Chris Colton won the third flight, while Dave Dwyer and Jerry Maringione took second, and Wayne Apple and Dave Bracken finished third.

Jack Wassum and Hank VanVeenendal won the fourth flight, while Bob Pacifico and Dan McMullen took second, and Doug Bagley and John (JJ) Baker finished third.

J.P. Stultz carded a 66 to become the gross winner of the Sept. 8 Gold Tee Tournament, while Mike Rayley (71) was second, Don Brown (72) was third and Rafe Hite (78) was fourth.

Keith Danner won the net with a 63, while Dale Wills (63) was second, Lynne Grove (64) was third and Jody Dawson (66) was fourth.

Darlene Grove was the low putts winner with 29 in the Sept. 10 Tuesday Morning Ladies event, while Nancy Moore was second. Trimarco was the low net winner for the day.

On Sept. 13, Young Life of Central Pa. hosted its 20th annual fall scramble at Park Hills, and Troy Campbell, Justin Blackburn, Pat Nagle and Allen Harr won with a 55. Michelle Day, Darlene Grove, Cindy Trimarco and Kate Conway (56) finished second.

Closest to the pin winners were Mark Condrin (3), Tick Sheaffer (6), John Nothwang (10), Mike’s Tools (14) and Darlene Grove (16). Other winners were Nagle (longest putt on 13), Bob Mucklow (men’s longest drive on 18), Penny Orr (women’s longest drive on 18), Steve Dalecki (Sheetz Z Card putt winner) and Larry Buchanon (Sheetz Z Card chip shot winner).

Sylvan Hills

HOLLIDAYSBURG – Brenda Flick was the winner of the Sylvan Hills Ladies Golf Association Three Blind Mice tournament on Sept. 17. Roz Sky had the longest putt, and Flick had the longest drive.

In the Sept. 11 scramble, Flick, Joanne Dandrea, Linda Smith and Sue Haught took first place, while Connie Angeski, Sky and Rita Brouse took second and Linda Wise, Sue Green, Carolyn Painter and Rosey McCoy took third. Brouse had the longest drive on 8, and Sue Welsh had the longest putt on 8.

King Valley

IMLER – Tyler Brown won the low gross of the King Valley Golf Course’s Monday Night League, while Garrett Shaw was second and Tyler Shaw was third.

Brad Knisely had the low net, while Bryan Shaw and Ron Bowser took second and third, respectively.

John and Jon Madey, Bob Strawser and Ted Krol won a benefit outing, while Mike Hoover, Dick Earnest, Mike Lashley and James Rathburr took second. Brian and Casey Knisely and Tyler and Ron Brown finished third, while Bill Shaffer, Eric Logue, Levi Clapper and David Dakavich placed fourth. Dakota McClucas, Wes Furry, Ryan Hess and Bryce McVicker took fifth.

Results can be reported by e-mail to, by fax at 946-7540 or by phone at 946-7464.