Clapper captures title by 2 strokes

ORE HILL – Wally Clapper carded a 147 to win the Iron Masters Club Championship by two strokes over David Lucks (149). Wes Elder (151) finished third.

Duane Geisler won the first flight with a 159, while Joe Burke won the second flight with a 165. Deb Long won the ladies title with a 171, while Gwen Paden (177) was second.

Sinking Valley

TYRONE – Artie Fink carded a four-round score of 275 to win the championship flight of the Sinking Valley Fall Club Championship by 19 strokes over Benny DelBaggio (294). Greg Ferguson (302) finished third.

Steve Monahan won the first flight with a 327, while Steve Osborn (338) took second. Jake Hennaman won the second flight with a 156, while Derek Fink (160) finished second. Joe Saffin won the third flight with a 163, and there was a three-way tie for second at 168 between Jim Ray, Bill Davis and Adam Osborn.

Rick Garbinsky took the fourth flight with a 172, while Ron Kenner (178) was second, and TJ Evangelisto (179) placed third. Bob Forshey won the fifth flight with a 179, while Jess Davis (193) was second, and Don Christopher (195) was third.


PHILIPSBURG – Jody Czap captured her 16th Philipsburg Country Club women’s championship flight – the most in club history – while Jenn Johnston was second, and Sandi Myers was third.

Gabi Barnett won the first flight, while Cathy Jo Miller was second, and Tracy Branthoover was third. Georgie Myers won the second flight, while Nancy Moskel was second, and Patty Sankey was third.

Matt Johnson won the men’s championship flight, while Ron Eiler was second, and Scott Nelson was third. Bob Mitchell captured the first flight, while Nate Lucas was second, and Gary Yoder was third. Kelly Reifer took the second flight, while Denny Goss was second, and Tom Dunsmore was third.

Tim Ronan won the third flight, while A.J. Czap was second, and Gary Byron was third. Aaron Reifer took the fourth flight, and Pete Reifer and Brent Becker were second and third, respectively. Arnie Foradori won the fifth flight, while Max Miller was second, and Jack Vesnesky was third.

Jeremy Potter won the sixth flight, while Denny Shealer was second, and Adam Smeal was third. Ray Woodring took the seventh flight, while Rich Jones was second, and John A. Frank was third. Gib Weller won the eighth flight, while Greg Baughman was second, and Jim Burns was third.

Rob Earnest won the ninth flight, while Rich Crain was second, and Denny Rodgers was third. Pat Brown was the club medalist with a 133 qualifying score.


CRESSON – Jay Pheasant, Rob Ruggiero and Craig Simanski carded a 126 to win the Summit Country Club’s three-man scramble on Aug. 24-25.

Quintin Dziabo, Mike Folcarelli and John Rozansky (129) finished second, and Tony Mignogna, Vaughn Lewis and Tom Muldoon (129) placed third. Al Simanski, Bernie Fabbri and Denny Carda (141) took fourth, while Mitch Johns, Artie Fink Sr. and Vic Mastalski (131) finished fifth.

On. Aug. 30, Gene Pietrowski, Jim Janosik, Jim Hoyer and Mike Mertens carded a 61 to win the Camco-Southern Alleghenies Advertising A.E.C. Golf Outing. Dan Castro, Evert Chapman, Larry Fisher and Jim Harnish (65) finished second.

Skill prize winners were Chauncey Johnson (longest drive on 3), Tim Shell (closest tee shot on 4), Charlie Zuspan (closest second shot on 6), Jim Komara (closest tee shot on 8), Scott Sarver (longest putt on 9), Mark Steeves (closest tee shot on 12), John Hugo (longest putt on 13), Pietrowski (longest putt on 15) and Regis Tremel (closest second shot on 17).

Last Saturday, Mark Delaney, Luke Geisbrecht, Rob Capelli and Casey Biter won on the fifth card-off hole against two other teams scoring a 59 to take the Gallitzin Moose 185 Benefit Golf Outing. Mike Dunmyer, Ian Dunmyer, Todd Burkett and Don Reams finished second, while Dan Myers, Mike Myers, John Dziabo and Joe Dziabo placed third.

Skill prize winners were Jeremy Eckenrode (long drive on 3), Fred McQuillen (closest tee shot on 4), Bob Shaw (closest tee shot on 8), Barry Knee (closest tee shot on 12) and Dave Shaw (closest second shot on 15).

On Aug. 17, Mike Moore, Larry Steele, Gary Day and Amity Day won a card-off with two other teams scoring a 57 to take the Dean L. Rhodes Memorial Hollidaysburg High School Golden Tiger Wrestling Team Benefit. Mitch Johns, Artie Fink Sr., Derek Fink and Ian Dunmyer placed second, and Dave Frazier, Chris Nelson, Stuart Rhodes and Phillip Pope finished third.

Skill prize winners were Brian Nicodemus (longest putt on 2, closest tee shot on 4), Johns (longest drive on 3), Steele (drive closest to line on 5, closest tee shot on 8), Brandyn Ott (long putt on 11), Gary Day (closest tee shot on 12), Dave Thompson (closest second shot on 17) and Dorothy Cavalet (women’s longest drive on 18).

Sylvan Hills

HOLLIDAYSBURG – Mary Jane Terza won the championship flight of the Sylvan Hills Ladies Golf Association Club Championship, while Brenda Flick and Connie Angeski was third.

Rita Brouse took the first flight, while Lynn Durbin was second, and Virginia Smith was third. Marian Monios won the second flight, while Mary Lou Lawruk was second, and Denise Madden was third.

On Tuesday, proximity winners were Terza (longest drive on 3) and Sue Haught (longest putt on 3), and Flick was the winner of the secret hole game.

Park Hills

Mike Raley, Carole Laich, Ken Gardner and Tim Litz carded a 62 to win the Park Hills Labor Day Scramble.

Ken Kirsch, Steve Ritchey, Stephanie Kirsch and Darlene Grove won a card-off against Tom Trimarco, Jerry Maringione, Jack Wassam and Maria Colmer for second after both teams scored 63.

In the Senior Slam Florida Scramble on Wednesday, Jack Sears, Bert Hobbs, Bob Lestochi and Bill Dambeck had the low gross. Basil Mannino, Don Gillispie, Ron Dandrea and Pete Litzinger finished second, while Ken Luke, Harry Magee, Herb Bolger and Paul Smith took third.

Rick Buchanan, Tom Moore, Rick Drabic and Bill Wolf had the low net, while Lynn Grove, Mike Slavin, Mike Slavin, W.T. Williams and Hank Codd took second, and Joe Hocherl, Ken Waite, John Beyer and Ron Hutchison finished third.

In the Aug. 28 Senior Slam, Grove, Moore, Litzinger and Beyer had the low gross, while Hocherl, Joe Saclaro and Magee took second. Gillispie, Waite, Dave Francis and Lestochi had the low net, while Sears, Bill Houy, Ron Hutchison and blind draw took second.

In the Tuesday Morning Ladies Odds and Evens event the day before, Nancy Moore carded a 48 for the low gross in the odds, and Donna Mannino scored a 37 for low net. Cindy Trimarco had low gross of 41 in the evens, and Darlene Grove had a 37 for the low net.


HUNTINGDON – Ed Gargula carded a 36 for the low gross, and Geoff Clarke, Jim Lasko and Phil Thompson had 34s for the low net in the Huntingdon Country Club’s Big Orange Golf League.

Gargula’s shot on the No. 3 – out of the sand, down the hole and hitting the pin – was the shot of the day.

Results can be reported by email to, by fax at 946-7540 or by phone at 946-7464.