Seven area players selected for game

From Mirror reports

Seven area high school senior softball players will hit the field one more time and eight former players – including three from Philipsburg-Osceola and two from Claysburg-Kimmel – will be inducted at this year’s Pennsylvania District 6 Softball Coaches Association Hall of Fame Game tonight.

The game will be held at Lock Haven University and pits a team of District 6 seniors against one from District 4. The 10-inning contest is scheduled to start at 5:30 p.m.

Halfway through the game, an intermission will be taken to induct the 2013 Hall of Fame class, among which are Claysburg’s Marissa Leslie and Amber Claar and P-O’s Mackenzie Gonder, Abby Peangatelli and Brittany Murphy. Gonder and Peangatelli were elected last year but could not attend.

Lewistown’s Angela Rocco, Indian Valley’s Amanda Wilson and Southern Huntingdon’s Tia Whitsel round out the hall class.

Bellwood-Antis’ Taylor Payne, Claysburg’s Kala Brumbaugh and Philipsburg-Osceola’s Kate Burge might join them in a few years, but for now those area players will participate in the game itself to round out their scholastic careers. Bellwood’s Kelsey Decker, Claysburg’s Courtlin Holland and Central Cambria’s Kandace Long and Lexi Murin also made the 20-player District 6 roster.



Taylor Boyer (Mifflin County), Kala Brumbaugh (Claysburg-Kimmel), Kate Burge (Philipsburg-Osceola), Kelsey Decker (Bellwood-Antis), Erica Devinney (Bellefonte), Paige Dickey (Central Mountain), Megan Dudish (Bald Eagle Area), Johnna Garbrick (Central Mountain), McKenna Garlock (Southern Huntingdon), Kayla Glossner (Central Mountain), Courtlin Holland (Claysburg-Kimmel), Kelsey Jenkins (Southern Huntingdon), Brit Koch (Central Mountain), Morgan Kunes (Central Mountain), Kandace Long (Central Cambria), Jess McClenahan (Bellefonte), Lexi Murin (Central Cambria), Taylor Payne (Bellwood-Antis), Madisyn Sharer (Penns Valley).