DeGol takes home Sylvan Hills title

HOLLIDAYSBURG – Dennis DeGol Jr. won the championship flight of the Sylvan Hills Golf Club’s Match Play Club Championship, while John Roland was second, and David Snyder was third.

Dave Johns won the first flight, while Isaac Wood was second, and Dave Sheridan took third. Dave Hancuff won the second flight, while Brian Walters took second, and George Focht finished third.

Harry Faduski, Bob Steinbugl, Doug Bradley and Trav Young carded a 33 to win the men’s division of the Golden Games Scramble on Tuesday. Galen Claar, Daniel Gottshall, George Boyles and Joe Judy finished second on a card-off against Darell Benz, Marty Long, Frank Glashauser and Jim Edwards after both carded a 34.

Dorothy Cavalet, JoAnne Dandrea, Linda Smith and Carolyn Painter won the women’s division with a 39. Sandy Murphy, Sue Welsh and Denise Madden took second on a card-off against Mary Jane Terza, Sue Haught, Lynn Durbin and Helen Singel after both scored 40.

Kings Juniors

ELIZABETH – Hollidaysburg’s Jordan Kirsch won the boys 17-18 division of the Kings Restaurants Junior Golf Tournament on Monday at the Hickory Heights Golf Club with a 69.

The next day at the Butler’s Golf Club, he carded a 72 in regulation and lost a sudden death playoff on the fifth hole against White Oak’s Max Kaminsky.


ALLISON PARK – Hollidaysburg’s Sean Brannan carded a 76 and finished tied for fifth with five others in the PNC West Penn Open qualifying round at Wildwood Golf Club.

Altoona’s Jimmy Gillam (81) also competed in the event.

North East Juniors

BELLE VERNON – Ebensburg’s Dom Stevens (78), Hollidaysburg’s Danny Stubbs (79) and New Paris’ Kyler Pennabaker (92) won their divisions when the North East Junior Golf Tour stopped at Cedarbrook Golf Club Tuesday.

Stevens won the boys 16-18 Oakmont Division. Stubbs won the boys 16-18 Pine Valley Division ahead of Hollidaysburg’s Jesse Ottaway (79) and Jerome Landry (83), who finished second and third, respectively. Pennabaker won the boys 10-12 Oakmont Division.

Cresson’s Maddie Krug (90) finished fourth in the boys 13-15 Pine Valley Division.

Park Hills

Tony Farrell and Down Brown tied for first in the first flight of the Park Hills Spring Wednesday League with Bill Allen and Keith Danner after both teams scored 34.5.

Andy Miller and T.J. Myers won the second flight with a 39.5, while Jim Pequignot and Dave Burger (38) took second, and Steve Ritchey and Dale Wills (31.5) placed third.

Eric Irwin and Matt Barker won the third flight with a 36.5, while Denny O’Conner and Dex Meadows (34.5) placed second, and Danny Green Sr. and Dann Green Jr. (31.5) finished third.

Dave Bracken and Wayne Apple won the fourth flight with a 40.5, while Tony Russo and Terry Riggen (33.5) finished second, and Rex Kaup and Greg Michelone (31.5) took third. Tim Lits and Jim Parlier won the fifth flight with a 35, while Joe White and Dave Dwyer placed second, and Hank Van Veenendaal and Jack Wassam took third.

Darlene Grove won the gross with an 89 in the Ladies of the Morning June 4 event, while Cindy Trimarco (101) took second. Doe Bolger had the low net of 74, while Danene Engle (75) finished second. A week later, Trimarco had the low gross with a 31, while Grove (34) took second. Bolger had the low net of 21, while Nancy Moore (25) placed second.

In the Senior Slam Man in the Box June 6, Rick Buchannan, Ron Dandrea, Harry Magee, Bob Lestochi and Larry Stitt won the low gross, while Ken Luke, Ray Thomas, Mike Slavin, Don Gillespie and Pete Litzinger took second.

Lynn Grove, Rich Papp, Don McKnight, W.T. Williams and John Beyer won the low net, while Bazil Mannino, Herb Bolger, Bill Wolf, Paul Smith and Dave Francis finished second.

Iron Masters

ORE HILL – Ron Hinish and Bryan James shot rounds of 71 and 69 to outlast Wally Clapper and Eric Glunt by two shots in the Iron Masters Member Member Medal Play Championship. Ken Emigh and Rick Dillon (148) finished third.

John Shaffer and Matt Bullington scored a 142 to win the first flight, while Mark Kensinger and Jerry Farkus (149) took second. Bob Ebersole and Tim Furry tied for first in the second flight at 154 with Bucky Miller and Ron Long.


PHILIPSBURG – Jim Bierly and Neil King carded a 59 to win the net division of the Philipsburg Elks Lodge and Country Club Invitational on June 8, finishing one stroke ahead of returning champions Craig and Jarrod Wood (60).

There was a three-way tie for third at 62 among the teams of Bill Sieg and Scott Gray, Jerry White and Kevin Hubler and Chad Krawczyk and Adam Moreland.

Ther was a tie for first in the gross division at 65 between Jim Dixon and Pat Brown and Doug Goss and Jeff Lieb. Mike Walker and Jason Boyer (66) finished third, while Bob Mitchell and Matt Johnson (67) placed fourth, and Chad Gearhart and Moreland (68) took fifth.

West Penn Seniors

GREENSBURG – Altoona’s Ron L. Hinish (163), Huntingdon’s Ed Strickler (172) and Alexandria’s David Fyock (192) participated in the West Penn Senior Amateur Championship at the Hannastown Golf Club.


HUNTINGDON – Geoff Clarke won the low gross with a 38, while Bob Fultz had the low net with a 35 in the Huntingdon Country Club’s Big Orange Golf League.

Results can be reported by email to, by fax at 946-7540 or by phone at 946-7464.


n Walt Bagley carded two holes-in-one Wednesday at Iron Masters. His first came on the third hole using a 6 hybrid, and his second came on the 13th using a 7 iron. His playing partners were Al Covino and Tony Labriola.

n Don McCready carded a hole-in-one on the Iron Masters third hole Wednesday with an 8 iron. He was playing with Norm Cruthers.

n Steve Gerhart scored a hole-in-one on the Iron Masters third hole with a 6 iron Wednesday. He was playing with Jamie Gerhart, Brad Mikolajczyk and Tom Haught Sr.

n Ebensburg’s Ron Davidson carded his third career hole-in-one on the Summit Country Club’s 136-yard par 3 eighth hole with a 6 iron on Wednesday. The shot was witnessed by Bob Leahey, Hugh Balsinger and Bob Biter.

n Jamie Powers carded a hole-in-one on the Scotch Valley 172-yard 12th hole with a 7 iron on May 19. It was witnessed by Michael Saltzburg, Mark Saltzburg and Ed Hrbik.