Wagner gets 10th Royal win

By Dottie Bird

For the Mirror

PORT?ROYAL – Mike Wagner, Matt Parks and Steve Buckwalter took the feature wins at Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night in the 410 sprint, late model and ARDC Midgets mains, respectively.

For Wagner of Harrisonville the win marked his 10th career victory at the track where he also owns a pair of titles.

Dog Hollow

Strongstown – Ingrams Engine Trophy night got the 2013 season underway at Dog Hollow Speedway on Friday, with Chad McClellan of Stoystown picking up the Townsend Gas and Oil Super Late Model feature win.

Stephanie Ivory of Coalport held on to get her first career feature win in Myers Tires four-cylinder sidewinders main event. Other winner included Andrew Satterlee of Rochester Mills in the Stoystown Auto Wrecker Fastrak Late Models, Bryce Stephens of Huntingdon in the Precise Racing Products Racesaver 305 Sprints; Adam Pletcher of Tire Hill in the Lias Tire Pure Stocks and Tom Pavelko of Cherry Tree in the Myers Tire modified four cylinders.


WILLIAMS GROVE SPEEDWAY: Rick Lafferty of Pennington, New Jersey, scored the Williams Grove Speedway 410 sprint car feature on Friday night, taking $3,600 for the win plus $150 in lap money.

In the 358 sprint main, Kevin Nouse scored for the sixth time in his career at Williams Grove.

LINCOLN SPEEDWAY: The four-time track champ Brian Montieth outdueled ten-time track champ Fred Rahmer to score his third win of the year in the Tenth Annual Weldon Sterner Memorial at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night. Westminster, Maryland’s J.B. Cunningham claimed his first career win in the 20-lap 358 sprint car feature.

Gettysburg’s Brian Walls came from 10th starting spot and chased down race leader Brian Diehl to score his second win of the year in the 20-lap thundercar feature.

SELINSGROVE SPEEDWAY: Eric Tomecek of Abbottstown held off defending champion Pat Cannon of Etters for his first career win at Selinsgrove Speedway in Saturday night’s 25-lap 358 sprint car main event.

Tomecek, driving the Mach 1 Chassis/D.L. Heiges Electric No. 1W, collected $1,500 for the victory in the suspenseful feature and became the 358-360 sprint car division’s fifth different winner in as many races this season. The non-stop race was timed in 8:30.354.

Eight-time champion Jeff Rine of Danville scored his first win of the season and the 80th of his career at Selinsgrove in the 25-lap late model feature. Rine also became the fifth different winner in as many late model shows this year.

Kyle Bachman of Selinsgrove won his second career Pro Stock 20 and collected $1,000 for the victory, which also marked his 37th career in the division at the track. Hayes Mattern of Beavertown, who competed in both the pro stock and late model divisions, set fast time for the Pro Stock 20 with a lap time of 24.314.

HAGERSTOWN SPEEDWAY: With his dominating triumph at Hagerstown Speedway on Saturday night, Hagerstown’s Terry Flaherty ended a dry spell dating all the way back to April 25, 2009. Coming on Fire/Rescue Appreciation and ARCH Fan Night, it was his career third in the Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic late model sportsman division and ended 3.163 seconds ahead of the divisions opening day winner, Paul Cursey.

AMP: The feature winners include Roger Irvine of Irvona in the Race Saver 305 Sprints; Luke Hoffner of Turbotville in the Randy Sterling Late Models; Denny Fenton of Clearfield in the Denny’s Beer Barrel Pub Semi Late Models; Curtis Teats of Morrisdale in the Harter and Son’s Garage Street Stocks, Jim Challelingsworth of St. Mary’s in the Quigley’s Pub Pure Stocks and Stephanie Ivory of Coalport in the Clearfield County Metals Four Cylinders.

HUMMINGBIRD SPEEDWAY: Paul Kot from Brockway took the green flag and held the lead until the checkered flag flew in the BWP Bats Steel Block Late Model division. In the Street Stock class Skip Lindemuth avoided the last lap mayhem to take the victory.

PMS: The first event of 2013 that was run “under the lights” at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway saw Kyle Lukon scoring his first ever Diehl of Robinson Super Late Model victory. In addition to Lukon, Dylan Bolind also claimed his first ever Imperial Heights Garage Young Guns feature win.

Bedford: Another wild Friday night at Bedford Speedway saw several new first time and infrequent feature winners and one winning streak continue. Justin Kann became the 126th different Late Model winner at the track with a dominating performance over that event. Deanna Groves made history at the track when she swept to the win in Economodified action, the first female feature winner in track history, Kyle Beckett also became a first time winner in Pure Stock action. Robby Black won the Limited event, Jesse Snyder won the semi late thriller and Cale Martin won another wild four-cylinder race to complete the evening.

Local tracks and teams are encouraged to email news and results to jamiedotti@aol.com