12 area wrestlers win titles

SHIPPENSBURG – Twelve area wrestlers won titles at the Middle Atlantic Wrestling Association West Regional Tournament March 29-30 at Shippensburg University.

In the Bantam Division, Irvona’s Zeke Dubler won at 52 pounds, and Roaring Spring’s Broxon Dean won at 56. There were four winners in the Junior Division in Everett’s Garret Cornell (74), Imler’s Kobe Harr (91), Cresson’s Derek Brown (120) and Coalport’s Nathaniel Simmers (166).

There was also four winners in the Intermediate in New Paris’ Justin McCoy (100) and Levi Hobson (105), Everett’s Kaden Cassidy (85) and Huntingdon’s Tyler Scott (115). Moshannon’s Joshua Fye (285) won in the Advanced Division, and Bedford’s Tanner Ripple (158) claimed a title in the Open Division.

Thirty-five area wrestlers in all placed in the top four at their weight classes and qualified for Eastern Nationals, which will be on May 4-5 at the Wicomico Civic Center in Salisbury, Md.

Altoona’s Braiden Weaver (40) finished second in the Bantam, while Everett’s Reese Sherwood (44) and Coalport’s Troy Misiura (65) took fourth in the division.

In the Midget Division, Irvona’s Suds Dubler (58) and West Decatur’s Hunter Weitoish (80) placed second. Coalport’s Garret Misiura (66) finished third, while Osterburg’s Calan Bollman (58) was fourth.

Huntingdon’s Joshua Boozel (75) and Philipsburg’s Levi Hughes (136) placed third in the Intermediate.

Everett’s Wesley D. Graham (145) and Fallentimber’s Kody Ness (285) placed second in the Advanced, while West Decatur’s Dakota Weitoish (135) was third. Philipsburg’s Bryce Bennett (100) and Hollidaysburg’s Dalton Long (130) took fourth.

In the Elite Division, Hollidaysburg’s Damian Huff (118) was second, while West Decatur’s Nick Gray (220) was third, and Philipsburg’s Bub Lumadue (189) was fourth.

Altoona’s Kerry Bonsell (125), New Paris’ Brennan Corle (190) and Mann’s Choice (295) took second in the Open Division. Alexandria’s Josh Heaster (220) was third, while Huntingdon’s Nick Marter (158) and Nathan Shope (220) took fourth.