3 Lady Mustangs selected to WestPac team

Emily Chobany, Emily McCabe and Olivia McCabe, all starters from the Portage Lady Mustangs basketball team, were named to the WestPAC All-Conference team for the Winter 2012-2013 sporting season.

The Lady Mustangs were able to win the WestPAC Championship, before advancing to their first District 6 championship game and the state playoffs.

Michael Bryja (basketball), Cody Kephart (wrestling), Alexandra Fedorko (rifle) and Candice Ramus (rifle) of Portage were also named all-conferece selections for their respective sport.


Drew Glotfelty (Berlin Brothersvalley), Dalton Cesarz (Blacklick Valley), Dillon Boyer (Conemaugh Township), Josh Burns (Conemaugh Township), Blake Furman (Conemaugh Valley), Chad Eisenhuth (Ferndale), Nicholas Cerreta (Meyersdale), Devon Richards (North Star), Michael Bryja (Portage), Luke Miller (Rockwood), Nathan Bodes (Salisbury-Elk Lick), Ryan Fyock (Shade), Wade Walker (Shade), Nash Walker (Shade), Carter Slade (Shanksville-Stonycreek), Austin Orndorff (Turkeyfoot Valley), Colt Ursino (Windber).


Aleesa Fieg (Berlin Brothersvalley), Marah Riley (Berlin Brothersvalley), Heather Marsh (Blacklick Valley), Lyndy Baer (Conemaugh Township), Emily McCray (Conemaugh Valley), Elizabeth Chobany (Ferndale), Kyley Dunmeyer (Meyersdale), Courtney Schrock (North Star), Emily Chobany (Portage), Emily McCabe (Portage), Olivia McCabe (Portage), Samantha Emert (Rockwood), Emily Lowery (Salisbury-Elk Lick), Emma Spinelli (Shade), Kayla Stockenus (Shanksville-Stonycreek), Katie Ryan (Turkeyfoot Valley), Kortney Lampel (Windber).


Joey Swank (Berlin Brothersvalley), Chris Miller (Berlin Brothersvalley), Bryce Fochtman (Berlin Brothersvalley), Stew Trulick (Berlin Brothersvalley), Tanner Cahill (Conemaugh Township), Taylor Cahill (Conemaugh Township), Trevor Thomas (Meyersdale), Bill Charlton (Meyersdale), Collin Day (Meyersdale), Gavin Berkley (Meyersdale), Justin Dunmeyer (Meyersdale), Tevin Mosteller (North Star), Levi Albright (North Star), Cody Kephart (Portage), Trevor Brown (Shade).


Tanner Walker (Berlin Brothersvalley), Deanna Binnie (Conemaugh Township), Morgan Dressick (Conemaugh Township), Kristan Rouser (Conemaugh Township), Annie Latshaw (Meyersdale), Emily Miller (North Star), Alexandra Fedorko (Portage), Candice Ramus (Portage), Landon Henry (Rockwood), Curtis Chenoweth (Salisbury-Elk Lick), Simon Knapp (Shanksville-Stonycreek), Keith Russell (Turkeyfoot Valley).

Tigers’ Huff recognized

Hollidaysburg Golden Tiger wrestler Damian Huff, who competed at 106, was named to the 2012-2013 Big 7 Wrestling All-Star team.

Huff, an Altoona Mirror second-team all-star, won the district championship while compiling a 24-4 record.

106- Damian Huff (Hollidaysburg), 113- Keanan Bottorf (Central Mountain), 120- Trevor Corl (Bellefonte), 126- Anthony Myers (State College), 132- Hayden Swartzwood (Jersey Shore) and Tristan Paul (Shikellamy), 138- Joe Powers (Bald Eagle Area), 145- Derek Horner (State College), 152- Chad Reese (Central Mountain), 160- Gavin Caprio (Central Mountain), 170- Nicholas Shawley (Bellefonte) and Devin Stacey (Central Mountain), 182- Jacob Taylor (Bald Eagle Area), 195- Aaron Varner (Bald Eagle Area) and Blaze Buckwalter (Central Mountain), 220- Cameron Porter (Central Mountain), 285- Garrett Poorman (Bellefonte).