Pitt announces class

PITTSBURGH — University of Pittsburgh Director of Athletics Heather Lyke announced recently the inaugural 16-member class of the Pitt Athletics Hall of Fame.

The group is composed of Olympians, national champions, Super Bowl winners, world-record setters and legendary figures whose names and achievements resonate well beyond Pitt. There are 12 living honorees and four posthumous inductees.

“It is with tremendous pride that we present the inaugural class of the Pitt Athletics Hall of Fame,” Lyke said. “These individuals represent Pitt’s Gold Standard and we are greatly looking forward to honoring them at our official induction ceremony in September.

“I love to remind people that Pitt could have its own wing in so many different halls of fame. Our athletic history is that rich and accomplished. I certainly tasked the selection committee with a huge challenge in trying to pare down 150 years of history for this inaugural class. In looking at our many deserving candidates, it is obvious that this 2018 group will be the first of many legendary Hall of Fame classes at Pitt. We’re thrilled to celebrate their achievements with a fitting showcase.”

Listed in alphabetical order, these are the members of the inaugural Pitt Athletics Hall of Fame class and their primary sport of distinction.

Henry Clifford “Doc” Carlson (athlete: football, basketball, baseball; coach: basketball); Mike Ditka (football); Tony Dorsett (football); Herb Douglas (track and field); Bill Fralic (football); Marshall Goldberg (football); Hugh Green (football); Trecia-Kaye Smith (track and field); Roger Kingdom (track and field); Billy Knight (basketball); Dan Marino (football); Lisa Shirk (gymnastics); Charles Smith (basketball); Kathy Stetler (swimming); John Bain “Jock” Sutherland (athlete: football; coach: football) and John Woodruff (track and field)

SFU tennis honored

LORETTO — The Saint Francis women’s tennis team had four players selected to All-NEC teams on Wednesday as the all-conference teams were released. Sophomore Lucia Seigford was named second team All-NEC in singles and Seigford and junior Raksha Bode were selected Second Team All-NEC in doubles. Nastasia Tamarkin was picked for the All-Rookie team.

Two make first team

LORETTO — Saint Francis men’s tennis senior Alec Dylan Foo-Kune and sophomore Franz Luna were honored among the best players in the NEC on Wednesday as the all-conference teams were released. Foo-Kune and Luna were both first-team selections in singles, while Charles Morkel and Sebastian Pinos were both selected to the all-rookie team.

PSU golf makes regional

UNIVERSITY PARK — The Penn State men’s golf team is making its fourth straight NCAA Regional appearance as it has been selected to compete in the Columbus Regional at the Ohio State Golf Club, May 14-16.